Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : Genesis – Foxtrot

download (47)

CB was already 2 albums into his Genesis journey (Live and Selling England By The Pound) when he jumped into Foxtrot. I had to go back to older records because Selling England was their latest. I had no idea what songs were on the record because they weren’t labelled. It had some cool artwork though. I was going solely on my past listening experience and hoping for the best. I cracked open the seal and folded out the cover. Song titles, lyrics and pictures.

The album opened up with ‘Watchers Of The Skies’ which I was familiar with from the ‘Live’ album. I liked this tune a lot. Genesis had a way of making me really listen and to engage in the songs and the music. They set a mood for sure. ‘Get ‘Em Out By Friday’ was another tune from ‘Live’ . Difference was that I got to read the lyrics as I went along. I was also becoming more and more a fan of Gabriel’s vocals. He was narrator and the characters in this tune. And I believed him.

images (53)

The album wasn’t doing anything to diminish my liking of this band. The vocals, music the songs all came together to engage me. It helped that I had time to spend and really listen to this stuff. A song like ‘Can-Utility and the Coastliners’ is a hard one to describe other than it is a musical ride with lots of ideas that fit the album. I don’t know if the previous songs were a set- up for ‘Suppers Ready’ but it felt that way to me. It was a head trip similar to ‘Battle Of Epping Forrest’.  CB was in for the ride. All 20 minutes of it and he loved it. Lots going on to stimulate my head. So much. Actually feel a little tired after it’s over. Gabriel goes to town on this one while the band supplies the great music to help him along.

So you get an idea what I was doing with a lot of my time. Listening to music like this and enjoying every minute of it. Foxtrot was listened to many times.

“CB are you burning that incense in your room again?”

“No ma just a little science experiment”

42 comments on “Album : Genesis – Foxtrot

  1. Aphoristical
    April 28, 2019

    My favourite Genesis album – even though they had a bunch of great ones in the 1970s

    Liked by 2 people

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 28, 2019

      We’ve had Genesis talks before. I think we were on the same page up to ‘Wuthering’. You know Gabriel was the glue for me but those first few albums after he left were still solid especially ‘Trick’.
      ‘Foxtrot’ for me was a special record. Where i was living, Genesis was not a well known band in fact they were under the radar until years after this album. I absolutely ate their recordings up. It was so different from what was floating around the airwaves and what was popular. I was very lucky to have found their music. It was big with me.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Aphoristical
        April 28, 2019

        I heard they were in debt for a long time, until they went pop in the 1980s.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 28, 2019

        That wouldn’t surprise me. They had a pretty elaborate stage show in those days and i would guess they weren’t breaking the bank on record sales.
        Like Fleetwood Mac they became a different band and made lots of money. Once you break into that mega sales it’s a different game. Good for them. They all seemed like decent guys.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. hotfox63
    April 28, 2019

    Next to “Nursery Cryme” and “Selling England by the Pound” a typical Genesis album from the 70s. With a lot of dynamics, dreamy melodies, fairytale-lyrics. But also social criticism. It was just the time of the “expansion of consciousness”. When listening to that, the smell of incense always rises in my nose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 28, 2019

      I wish i could put things into words like that. It’s funny on the social criticism, not sound wise but the lyrics and ideas on some of Genesis tunes reminded me of the Kinks. Maybe it was the English thing. The Preservation albums come to mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 1537
    April 28, 2019

    Mum diddley washing, Mum diddley washing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim S.
    April 28, 2019

    I kinda got into a Genesis jag a while back when we – someone – was blogging about them. Did I make it this one? Can’t remember. I’ll add it to the list.

    “CB are you burning that incense in your room again?”

    “No ma just a little science experiment. My homework ate my dog.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 28, 2019

      I think it was Aphoristical. We’ve talked about them a few times. I did ‘Live’ a while back. Doc I listened to them a lot. Sort of what my CB journey is about. The albums that I spun the hell out of. Trying to catch the head-space I was in back then. I think you kinda know that CB was enjoying some of that stuff they’ve legalized. Sometimes the music just sounded so much better.

      Like

      • Jim S.
        April 28, 2019

        I liked them but wasn’t a mega-fan. I know I listened to one or two of the early albums recently. Prog-rock wise, I was more into ELP and Yes. Not that any of those bands are mutually exclusive.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 28, 2019

        I listened to all those bands a lot. ELP was the start. Then I just “progressed” onto the ones you mentioned and others. I don’t go back and listen to it as much as say the Cream etc but I still get something out of it when I do. I certainly haven’t turned my back on it.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. J.
    April 29, 2019

    I still need to listen to more (early) Genesis. I used to see them fairly cheap, but prices have went up a wee bit over the last couple of years and, well, I’m not for spending too much on them just in case!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. greenpete58
    April 29, 2019

    I was a casual fan of Yes, then discovered Genesis and fell in love immediately (pre-Collins-as-pop-star-Genesis). Yes seemed to emphasise instrumentation over tune, and Genesis was the opposite. They started out, in high school, as a songwriters’ collective. Gabriel was always the focal point, but I think Banks and Rutherford were excellent arrangers, especially Banks. He doesn’t seem to get his due.

    And if I had to choose one Genesis record for my desert isle, I think Foxtrot might be it. All the tunes are good, but “Supper’s Ready” is a prog classic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 29, 2019

      I agree on your Banks/Rutherford thought. I liked the bands sound. Hackett and Collins also. Like I said to another comment, this band and album was miles away from the later pop stylings.
      I spent a lot of time with their music. I didn’t pay much attention to what was written during or after. All I know is the music had something that engaged me. I went on to gobble up all the early stuff and getting ‘Lamb’ when it was released. Again I also liked that one a lot but yeah ‘Foxtrot’ is a pretty special album in my pile. Same page Pete.

      Like

  7. Vinyl Connection
    April 29, 2019

    Incense always helps, doesn’t it?
    I think we’ve previously established a comradeship around Genesis ‘Live’ being a touchstone for both Genesis and indeed other progressive musicks. Good stuff, CB.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 29, 2019

      ‘Incense” didn’t hurt the music listening. It didn’t help to much with my school thing. Yeah you and I are card carrying members of this kind of music. I think we even coined a new term other than that “prog” thing but I forgot it already. To much incense.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. deKE
    May 1, 2019

    I’m in the Land of Confusion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 1, 2019

      deke I can’t help ya. I’m stuck in that land permanently. I have a perma confused look on my face.
      Being a bit of a heavier music guy do you dig this old Genesis stuff?

      Liked by 1 person

      • deKE
        May 1, 2019

        Actually I like some of the 80’s driven Genesis things that put out like Land of Confusion..
        I never really gave the 70’s stuff a fair shake but perhaps I should reconsider especially when I see that troublemaker 1537 lurking around haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        May 1, 2019

        Yeah I still sniffed around after Gabriel left. The 3 remaining guys still had a good sound and made lots of dough which was good.
        If my mom finds out I’ve been hanging out with a trouble maker, I’m in deep shit.

        Liked by 1 person

      • deKE
        May 1, 2019

        hahaha….

        Liked by 1 person

  9. the press music reviews
    June 30, 2020

    Incredible album. Timeless masterpiece.

    Like

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 1, 2020

      Thanks. And yes it is. I was over on your site a long time ago. Time for a revisit.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the press music reviews
        March 17, 2021

        Ditto, this is up there in my top 2 or 3 Genesis albums. The opener and closers are two of their finest ever moments in my book. You covered this well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 17, 2021

        Thanks Press. I finally got around to Gabriel’s first solo. It’s in the bag.

        Like

  10. badfinger20 (Max)
    December 12, 2020

    I had never heard much of this period. Aphoristic posted some songs from this album/era… I’m a sucker for good pop melodies…and this has it in spades. Great album.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      December 12, 2020

      Seeing as your going back with the Floyd stuff you might find this early Genesis full of gems also. I was a huge fan of this early stage of the band,

      Liked by 1 person

      • badfinger20 (Max)
        December 12, 2020

        I was shocked CB…I thought it would be just progressive rock. When I heard this stuff…it was some great pop/rock. The melodies knocked me out.

        Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        December 12, 2020

        No, Genesis had a lot going on . Gabriel has great musical ideas. I was and am a huge fan of his right up there with Bruce.

        Liked by 1 person

      • badfinger20 (Max)
        December 12, 2020

        I became a fan when I heard Foxtrot…I sound like a broken record but they have those melodies…Yea Gabriel is out there in a good way.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        December 12, 2020

        ‘Selling England’ is where I goy on board and I was gone from there. Gabriel has such a cool distinctive voice. Foxtrot is an intense listen. ‘Watcher Of The Skies’ is a classic cut for me. The whole album obviously. Yeah you picked out the “harmonies”. I’m getting ready to do “Lamb” Another album with so much cool music. More of those harmonies also.

        Liked by 1 person

      • badfinger20 (Max)
        December 12, 2020

        The Lamb album…that got suggested to me last week…yea I do love harmonies…of course that came from the Beatles I guess for me. I’ll check out Selling England

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        December 12, 2020

        Phil Collins does his first vocal on ‘England ‘. It’s good.
        Harmonies ? I love the Everly Brothers. Cant listen to the Beatles without thinking of them. I’m telling you Max, I seen them a few times in the 80’s and they were fantastic, they had a knockout band backing them . Albert Lee was kinda the leader. Unbelievable. You would have loved the shows.

        Liked by 1 person

      • badfinger20 (Max)
        December 12, 2020

        Albert Lee…he can play anything. He can also “chicken pick” just a great musician. The Everly Brothers influenced the Beatles so yea…they didn’t have two great voices…they had voices that made ONE…just awesome.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        December 12, 2020

        No kidding. A lot of those acts like the Everleys got away from the revival thing and really took a good show on the road . It was right around when they released EB84. This was written by your buddy Paul Mac. Plus the Knopfler cut

        Liked by 1 person

      • badfinger20 (Max)
        December 12, 2020

        CB I missed it but I wanted to see the Simon/Garfunkel Everly Brothers tour bad. It doesn’t get much better than that.

        I do remember when that was released. I need to listen to more of their newer music.

        Liked by 1 person

      • the press music reviews
        March 17, 2021

        It is just great rock music period

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2019 by in 1972 album, Genesis, Peter Gabriel, Rock N Roll, Uncategorized and tagged , .

Categories