Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

The Georgia Satellites Live! – Hippy Hippy Shake

Ok no messing around, we’re going to a Georgia Satellites gig tonight. It is gonna be a blast. I never caught these guys live (A big music regret) but we are rectifying that right now. By all accounts they put on a no holds barred show. By the look and sound of the video below I believe that. A rock n roll concert doesn’t get any better.

They dig out this gem and give it their spin with the ghosts of the early Beatles bar gigs. I hear Lennon’s vocals coming out of Rick Richards. Man it’s rock n roll made for CB. 2 minutes and 15 seconds of pure rock n roll pandemonium.

So sign up and we’ll pick you up in the Boneshaker ( bus ). Our buddy deKE is all hopped up on caffeine and driving the 26 window sedan with the 8-Track blaring. We have Max riding shotgun just in case. We’re heading for wherever the Satellites are playing and we are going to have too much fun. So yeah, I’m flush so I have the cocktails and fried chicken taken care of. We are going to have a blast!

36 comments on “The Georgia Satellites Live! – Hippy Hippy Shake

  1. Phil Strawn
    March 15, 2024

    Hope it was a great one CB. I love these guys and didn’t know they were still a band.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 15, 2024

      I dont think they are Phil. I’m just messing around fella. making it up as I go to wherever I’m going. You must have done the Hippy Shake back in the day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Strawn
        March 15, 2024

        Yep, Momo and I did just that. If we did it today, it would mean a trip to the ER for a broken hip or worse. Don’t matter that you made it up, let us know how the made up concert sounded. Tall tales are bitchen (1960s surf lingo) Curious in Texas. Also, half the stuff I write is made up, but Ima sure you know that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 15, 2024

        Why i like you buddy. My gal is an original Hippy. Found her at an outdoor concert twirling around getting dizzy. Sort of like your latest take.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Strawn
        March 15, 2024

        Ha! That’s great; twirling and swirling. Yeah, Momo did a bit of that herself. We havn’t attended an outdoor concert since the Pop Fesitval, too darn hot in Texas for outside music. We are going to the Granbury Opery House on the 30th to see the Liverpool Legends, a tribute to the Beatles and Momo will be wearing a hippy type of outfit she made. For one night only, I will be calling her Suzy Creamcheese.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 15, 2024

        Yes the classic Hippy girl dance. “Suzy” a classic also.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jat Storey
    March 15, 2024

    Hope you had a ball CB

    Liked by 1 person

  3. deKE
    March 15, 2024

    Still one of the best live bands that ever passing through town. When my buddy Tbone hollered Red Light at Baird he obliged they ploughed through it. Classic stuff ….

    Liked by 2 people

  4. 2loud2oldmusic
    March 15, 2024

    That should be awesome. Enjoy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 15, 2024

      deKE behind the wheel. “Van Halen waling on the 8 track” deKE will know that lyric.

      Like

  5. Yeah, Another Blogger
    March 15, 2024

    Real good. A big thumbs-up. 👍

    Like

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 15, 2024

      I think a repost of your Boss concert from way back is getting in order. I think the folks would like that. Get in the time machine and catch that gig. You’ll have to wear the same duds.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. hotfox63
    March 15, 2024

    Buckle up kids !! CB’s going to shake !!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. randydafoe
    March 15, 2024

    Well that will get you moving on a Saturday morning. This is the version that was released in 1988 I think? Honestly I’ve listened to dozens of versions of this song, this and The Beatles are the top two for sure. Good stuff CB and deKE!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Canadian Grooves
    March 15, 2024

    I think I read somewhere that their version is the shortest song to crack the Hot 100. I could be wrong but it is a cool bit of trivia if true!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. christiansmusicmusings
    March 15, 2024

    All sounds good to me, CB – I’m in! 🙂

    And, yeah, this is pure rock & roll!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Badfinger (Max)
    March 16, 2024

    Dude…yea I’ll ride shotgun! I love these guys but you know that! I first heard Keep Your Hands to Yourself from a local band with my friend…they got a bootleg of it before it was released…what a great band they were.

    Great live cut of them…another band that is seriously underrated…they rocked the 80s and they were a light in the dark dude!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 16, 2024

      I know that and I know you’d love the Lennon vibe. Yes they were a great band and “seriously underrated”. They still are a “light” Max. Keeps my faith in good rock n roll.
      Keep that deKE guy between the lines.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 16, 2024

        Thats a hard job with Deke….but he made me an honorary Canadian for what it’s worth.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 16, 2024

        We dont hand that honorarium to just anyone. Digging the Satellites get a tick in a box.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2024 by in Uncategorized.

Categories