Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Tom Jones Live! – Burning Hell

Ok we’re heading down to the church house with Deacon Tom Jones doing a little John Lee Hooker spiritual. I’m not kidding. This is the music Jones started out doing when he was a young lad in Wales. Don’t expect the Vegas act. This is greasy, back to the influences for Tom. He’s got a two piece band and they cook. The brothers Stacey, Paul and Jeremy.

Jones has the pipes and the band has the chops and we get treated to some fantastic music by “The Greatest Living Welshman” according to my friend 1537. This is a retread take for me but as long as I’m coming back to town once in a while to raise some hell I thought this would be a good show to catch.

So lets get down on our bended knee, tip a few ales and watch and listen to these guys do their work. Just let the music do it’s thing. It raises a few hairs on the back of my neck. Hey we ain’t makin’ no deal with that nasty devil, we’re making a deal to get some fantastic music.

“Deacon Jones pray for me, Deacon Jones please pray for me”

41 comments on “Tom Jones Live! – Burning Hell

  1. Phil Strawn
    March 1, 2024

    Son, damn, you dig up some good stuff. Old Tom is cooking, and all that without the big band sound. I’ve always been a fan but didn’t say it too loud for fear of musician’s hoity-toity retribution, you know, the old rock n roll thing. Good to have you back in the fold CB.

    Liked by 2 people

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 1, 2024

      I shook that “hoity -toity” shit a long time ago. I hear you though. Tom throws a curve and it’s a beauty. Has the same soul and Pat Boone singing Tutti Frutti. Maybe not.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Strawn
        March 1, 2024

        Oh man, Pat Boone singing Tuti Fruitti, what was his family thinking letting him do that. I got a few stories about old Pat

        Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        Lets hear them stories. I hear he’s a nice guy. That cover is a beauty. I’m glad Jones has the chops for this stuff. Didnt Pat do a heavy metal album? Could be deadly.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Phil Strawn
        March 1, 2024

        Yeah, he did one, and dressed up in leather and chains. They didn’t help his image, still Mr. Sanitized, way before Mr. Clean came along. My father was in the house band on the Ozark Jubilee in Springfield Mo, back in the mid 1950s. The show was also known as the Red Foley show, since he was, the star, and it was televised on CBS live every Saturday night. I was only a small kiddo but remember some of it. My father passed the stories on to me, and some way, I have remembered them all these years. Gotta be careful though, ole Pats still lurking around. Look up Red Foley’s video of The Birmingham Bounce on YT. My pop is the dark headed fiddle player sitting next to the great Grady Martin playing his double neck guitar.

        Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        Tat’s right on the “leather” thing. It sounds like Halloween. I probably wont seek that out.
        I will have a look at the Foley thing for sure. Thanks

        Liked by 2 people

      • 1dancequeendq
        April 12, 2024

        Pat Boone was a favourite of my Father’s for a time. https://youtu.be/2ENzT9k1LRs?si=tyGAuoMcvE5O3et3 I played this in The Happening many moons ago. I love it. So did the listeners.

        Like

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 12, 2024

        Anybody that whistles in a song has me. A little sax in there. I remember our chat about Pat (And my cat) doing Little Richard. One of the reasons I dont diss other people likes. I would a have a place for this tune if it was one of my Dad’s favorites. You put another smile on my face.

        Liked by 1 person

    • 1dancequeendq
      April 12, 2024

      😅 I’m a Secret Fan of Tom Jones too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 12, 2024

        I knew it! (That’s funny)

        Liked by 1 person

      • 1dancequeendq
        April 12, 2024

        He was the headline act at Dreamland in Kent UK. The general release tickets sold out in minutes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 12, 2024

        I’ve found some good stuff by him. He does a tune with a guy a guy called Seasick Steve. Pretty good.
        I would have to do my homework before I went to see him. I like this rootsy stuff a lot. So does he.

        Liked by 1 person

      • 1dancequeendq
        April 16, 2024

        Seasick Steve is an interesting guy. Loved on the alternative/folk/pop music genre’s. Not quite sure where to place him. I think the late John Peel was a fan.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 17, 2024

        He was new to me ( Still nice to make new music discoveries). Place him in to be continued.
        (Went over to your station. I’ll plug into a couple shows. I peeked at one that Fred Wesley was featured. I’ve been listening to him lately).

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 12, 2024

        Curious. Did you catch any bio pics on her? I tend to stay away from them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • 1dancequeendq
        April 17, 2024

        I did in the past. Can’t remember at the moment where to find them.,

        Liked by 1 person

  2. valenciartist
    March 1, 2024

    Definitely “The” BEST!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. randydafoe
    March 1, 2024

    That was great! I do recall catching some of covers of artists I like, Chuck Berry, and his cover of Spanish Harlem I think came up recently on someone’s post… Can’t remember!

    Like

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 1, 2024

      Great is what I thought. Love when I get schooled or have my opinion changed. By the way the whole album is “great” The “can’t remember” thing happens to me a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      • randydafoe
        March 1, 2024

        Thank goodness I’m not alone! Yeah I’m generally not a big fan but the man has talent. He had Little Richard in his TV show around 1970 or so, that was pretty cool.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        From what I gathered Randy he’s a pretty hip guy (you can tell from this cut). The press etc can color our opinions the old guilty before investigation thing. Like i was saying to someone else he does some music with Seasick Steve which will further the less slick Tom image. This album is very good. I like it a lot.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Badfinger (Max)
    March 1, 2024

    Never did I think in a million years you would find something like this with Jones. I’ve seen that clip of Jones singing with Joplin and I thought ok…the guy does have soul. This was the perfect backing band… he shed that Vegas thing like a cheap suit. This Tom Jones I like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 1, 2024

      Fox turned me onto some collabs with a guy named Seasick Steve. Same vibe. Jones certainly doesnt look or sound out of place here. It feels natural and real. The boys behind him dont hurt the feet on the ground sound. Cool huh?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 1, 2024

        That is really something. I knew there was some good in him when I saw him and Joplin do “Raise Your Hands”… and yes this looked totally genuine. I loved the bare minimum and again.. it’s a common trait with you…great guitar sound.

        Like

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        I think you’d dig the whole album for a lot of reasons Max. It’s good In fact I’m going to listen to it right now.
        (I do love that sound. It’s all over my music pile. But dont forget that I’m a card carrying Duke Ellington guy. His orchestra slays me. But he also strips it down to the bare minimum)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 1, 2024

        There is a big difference in the Las Vegas style of that…this aint it! thank goodness. I always told my band members…I wish we could have kidnapped Elvis and played behind him one time…because this is what it woudl have sounded like.
        I will check it out CB.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        I’m with you there. You gotta give Jones credit on this. Obviously he calls the shots. The whole thing , from the Hooker song, the sound the brothers get and Jones feeling it. You see how blown away Shafer was.
        I caught a similar two piece in a shit hole bar years ago and it was great. Greasy and loud. The place went nuts.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 1, 2024

        I never thought I would hear him sing Nobody’s Fault But Mine….and sound that good! I’ve been listening to the album.
        I know that two piece made Jack White huge and it works if done right.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        He does a good job on that one. I’m still light on the White stuff but definitely like what I have listened to by him.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah, Another Blogger
    March 1, 2024

    He’s a powerhouse. Did you ever see him in concert?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. loreleiirvine
    March 1, 2024

    John Cale is my favourite living Welshman,CB!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 1, 2024

      That made me chuckle. When I do a take on Cale with your permission I will quote you. Between you and me I listen to Cale a lot more than I do big Tom.

      Like

      • loreleiirvine
        March 1, 2024

        Haha! Be my guest. Jones’ cover of Prince’s Kiss is a camp classic, though!

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 1, 2024

        I liked what he did with that one but I do like this style. It suits him. The album is very good. Talk later I’m off to a Cale listening party. I have feeling You Know More Than I Do.

        Like

  7. Pingback: Beat Farmers – Goldmine – PowerPop… An Eclectic Collection of Pop Culture

  8. Jat Storey
    March 3, 2024

    Second greatest living Welshman, I’ve moved up one place in the charts since then CB!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2024 by in Uncategorized.

Categories