Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Link Wray Live! – Rumble

Certain folks warned us not to go and see this show but I’m going anyway, are you kidding? Anything that sounds this nasty is right in my wheelhouse. Link Wray was playing this back in the 50’s. Can you imagine? It scared so many people it got banned. Anything this good was going to get heard and it was. Man am I glad about that.

I caught Wray and Robert Gordon and let me tell you it was an unforgettable night of some of the best music you can hear (For CB anyway). I can’t say much more so have a listen to the cut below and meet me at the bar and lets “Rumble” with Link. I can’t wait. Payday and I’m going to get a little tight and have some fun. So join me if you dare and I know you will. Oh yeah this is bare bones loud rock n roll with lots of brylcreem on the side. See you here friends. Again I got the first round of beer. Canadian beer.

26 comments on “Link Wray Live! – Rumble

  1. Phil Strawn
    March 29, 2024

    I dig this Kat. He drips bad boy stuff. I heard him many moons ago and even then, his music was radical. Good choice CB, and hope you have a great time at the show. Do they still sell Brylcream?

    Like

  2. Yeah, Another Blogger
    March 29, 2024

    Great stuff!

    Like

  3. randydafoe
    March 29, 2024

    Honestly CB I would have given my left you know what to see those two, let alone together. When Link appears on Gordon’s Fresh Fish Special I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. Other than that I guess it’s an ok song 😂😂

    Like

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 29, 2024

      Yes the Link Robert combo was a good one. I loved it. Under the radar but they still made lots of noise. I might have to bust out ‘Fresh Fish Special’. You’re on the underground train when you mention that one Randy.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. observationblogger
    March 29, 2024

    I heard it once CB and I had to come back to it because it’s so good.
    Am I missing something or is this part of Pulp Fiction soundtrack? Someone’s copied someone.

    Like

  5. christiansmusicmusings
    March 29, 2024

    “Rumble” was a remarkable instrumental, especially for its time – super experimental. It certainly sounded quite different from big hits in 1958 like “Volare” (Domenico Mudogno), “Tom Dooley” (The Kingston Trio) or “All I have to Do Is Dream” (The Everly Brothers).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Badfinger (Max)
    March 30, 2024

    Dude! I completely missed this! Why we never played this I don’t know but this is so damn cool. You find the best live performances out there. This is where Pete Townshend got his power chords. Awesome version man…I would kill to see this live.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 30, 2024

      When I hear or see this kind of music performance I know I’m witnessing something special. It moves me and I cant resist.
      Another cool thing is, I dont know if it validates anything but when guys like Pete, Page, the Boss, Max and so many others dig this music it puts me is some good company. I have this stuck in my head since I posted it. It is so good.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 30, 2024

        I never heard a live rendition of that dude. I knew it was powerful on record but that knocked me back. CB has a way of finding gold live.
        I’m honored man…but man…I posted this a while back but never bothered to think…what about a live version. It really comes alive CB…hell even more. You know what the funny thing about it is? It’s not a Hendrix or complicated riff…just open chords….but man it hits perfectly.

        Like

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 30, 2024

        On the comments above I posted a link (You probably saw that doc) where Page is listening to it. He is totally in the moment.
        The bass player is pulling the strings off his instrument. Oh yeah the cut hits the spot. Link is walking around enjoying his composition.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 30, 2024

        I love that doc….It Might Get Loud…what a great doc that was. You can tell what it meant to Page. I do think Townshend shows it more than anyone in his playing. How he can make simple chords sound so powerful…like this.
        Wray is in the moment also…it’s bigger than him…

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 30, 2024

        Absolutely on your last comment (And your other comments as well)
        (The next post has been scratching me for ages. You nudged me awhile ago to pull the trigger)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Badfinger (Max)
        March 30, 2024

        Good! This time I’ll try to be on time for the show.
        I’m glad I helped you out this time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 30, 2024

        You nudge me more than you think.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Jat Storey
    March 31, 2024

    Amazing stuff CB. So much music I love was birthed during those opening chords of Rumble.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 31, 2024

      Yeah, I cant get hose “opening chords” out of my head. As usual I’m vocalizing in public. Sort of a guttural sound. “Huh huh huuuuuh”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2024 by in Uncategorized.

Categories