Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Tipping a Couple At The Morrison Hotel

max1315006485-frontback-cover

I can’t tell you guys and gals how much I’m enjoying this CB thing. A total pleasure (or I wouldn’t fuck’n do it). Getting to know a little about all of you. Your musical tastes, sense of humors and just your all round sociability and of course the sharing of our love for this music/film thing we do.

Vinyl Daft Dad or J (as we call him at the bar) did a post on a Doors tune. In the course of commenting back and forth I told him I had a take on ‘Morrison Hotel’ brewing. He said maybe we should collaborate on it. So simple as that we did. It was a seamless, enjoyable endeavor with the two of us bridging the generation gap which is a term that doesn’t apply to J and CB. We dig this record just because there is no “Stinking generation gap” (use appropriate accent). Man it was fun. Thanks for doing all the heavy lifting J. I came home from the bar a little lighter in the wallet and with a beauty of a black eye. All in the name of rock n roll. See ya next week when I get out of the dog house.

So join J and I at the Morrison Hotel for a few sociables and for the house band, the Doors.

Here’s the link if your thirsty.

https://vinyldaftdad.wordpress.com/2019/06/03/the-doors-morrison-hotel/

 

 

21 comments on “Tipping a Couple At The Morrison Hotel

  1. Vinyl Connection
    June 4, 2019

    As I’ve always considered The Doors an excellent bar band, I’ll shout another round!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. J.
    June 4, 2019

    One of my favourite posts I’ve done, CB – thoroughly enjoyed chatting about Jim & Co.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 4, 2019

      Oh yeah, me too. We might have to get a bigger table at the bub next time. Looks like we might have a few people join us. We’ll get them on payday, we might get a free drunk on the deal.

      Liked by 1 person

      • J.
        June 4, 2019

        The more the merrier, eh?

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 5, 2019

        Folks are getting a charge out of it. Good one fella.

        Liked by 1 person

      • J.
        June 5, 2019

        We did good, CB.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 5, 2019

        Totally random, off the cuff. I wasn’t seeing enough Doors love out there. I’m amazed at how many people don’t know the album or just in passing. I’m also amazed that my copy is still in great shape. I mean, I played the hell out of it. Even the cover is in good shape.
        I’ll let you in on a little something. I have never seen the Stone flick. Not even a little bit interested. Bio films have never got me. Documentaries yes. The whole wig thing is kinda funny.

        Liked by 1 person

      • J.
        June 6, 2019

        I’m also surprised that some don’t know this one at all. I always kinda thought it was the most accessible one and that many would have heard at least heard a time or two.

        As for the flick, it’s been a while since I saw it last. It’s not great, but probably a great gateway for people who have a passing interest. The best thing about it is that (apparently) Kilmer couldn’t get out of character. He was in total lizard king mode for a while afterwards. That’s awesome.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 6, 2019

        Like I said earlier, because we dug it so much we figured everyone else did too. But even Doors fans have gave it a passing listen.
        Val stayed in character and probably drove everyone huts. I seen a a couple photos of the film back when. Michael Madsen had the bad wig job. I thought he got killed in ‘Reservoir Dogs’

        Liked by 1 person

      • J.
        June 6, 2019

        Man, Michael Madsen! I forgot he was in it. Not referring to his performance in The Doors, but I loved Madsen… he could have been a contender.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 6, 2019

        I agree.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. greenpete58
    June 4, 2019

    Great idea about the beer summit with J., CB. I mentioned to Jim a while back about you and me collaborating on Townes Van Zandt, an artist for whom I could use your assistance. Would you be interested? We could meet somewhere down East Texas way. The Lone Stars are on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 4, 2019

      Absolutely on the Townes thing. We will set that up for sure. I can chirp in a bit, I’m no expert but his music moves me to the core. I think old Townes spent a few hours in a couple Texas cantinas.
      Yeah J was great to work with. He was the driving force for our little idea. We enjoyed it and that is the best thing about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, Another Blogger
    June 4, 2019

    CB, I’m embarrassed to say that I barely know this album. And I’m a pretty big Doors fan. Anyway, I’m going to go to YouTube and give it a listen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 4, 2019

      Lots of edge but some nice changes of pace. J refers to them on the take. I think you’re in for a few treats Neil. Like opening up a time capsule.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. christiansmusicmusings
    June 5, 2019

    Cool, I just commented on Vinyl Daft Dad’s blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. the press music reviews
    March 17, 2021

    One of the great albums, and certainly favourite Doors LP. I would drink Morrison Hotel IPA.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2019 by in 1970 albums, Jim Morrison, Rock N Roll, The Doors and tagged , , .

Categories