Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Movie : Snap Review – In Bruges

download (5)

Two hit men are hiding out in Bruges for a couple weeks until the heat cools down. They’re waiting for a call to let them know what’s going on. Come back to London? Maybe another Hit? One of them is making the best of it and taking in the sights and history of Bruges , the other can’t stand the shithole and is getting a little stir crazy.

images (15)

That’s it on paper. On screen you are in for a cool ride of a film. Great characters, dialogue, direction and a great setting. Bruges. Lots of comedy and funny bits but some hard, real moments with the characters struggling with choices and guilt of past actions. Lots of twists and changes of pace. Off beat and a surprise of a good film.  It stays with you. Get to Bruges and “Hit a Canadian”

14 comments on “Movie : Snap Review – In Bruges

  1. Vinyl Connection
    September 16, 2018

    I remember enjoying this. What was the film where the older of the two played an Irish policeman? A suspense/crime thing. That was really good too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      September 16, 2018

      The Guard (music by Calexico. That caught me off “guard”). Another really good film. Brendan Gleeson makes good choices. The Calvary is another.
      I have one coming up from your piece of the world. Another small good film.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. J.
    September 16, 2018

    Great flick, this. Probably the only time I’ve enjoyed watching Colin Farrell, actually.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      September 16, 2018

      Agree on the Colin thing. Haven’t seen a lot of his work. He is very good in this. Gleeson is always good and Fiennes could be Kingsleys cousin from ‘Sexy Beast’. Bottom line is it’s a quirky off the map film well directed by Martin McDonagh.

      Liked by 1 person

      • J.
        September 16, 2018

        In fact, I also like him in another McDonagh flick – Seven Psychopaths. That’s another cracker.

        And aye, Gleeson is pretty much great in everything. I really like him in Calvary.

        Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        September 16, 2018

        I vaguely have heard of that film and will check it out. It’s like the music thing J. Lots of good stuff to get to and leads like this are my best resource. I don’t trust the mainstream media and what they’re selling. More McDonagh on the horizon. How was his new one that was getting all the press?
        Gleeson doesn’t make a wrong turn And yes I’ve seen Calvary. A take should be done on that one and will be. I mentioned The Guard to Bruce and Calexico doing the soundtrack. Great choice.

        Liked by 1 person

      • J.
        September 16, 2018

        That’s Three Billboards…? I haven’t seen it yet. Hopefully pick up DVD or Netflix picks it up… or I see it via something else. Heard only good things, though. But I’m the same as you, pretty much everything I watch and listen to has been recommended by a pal. They’re just selling enthusiasm.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        September 16, 2018

        I’ve been burned enough by bad recommendations that people are just aping and not personally watching. A few years ago we watched a film and halfway through, after i turned it off i found out it was a best Academy best pic winner. I thought the person telling me was joking. Nope he was telling me the truth.

        Liked by 2 people

      • J.
        September 16, 2018

        Aye, I’ve experienced that myself (“You should watch this one…” ah, cool – thanks… “great film…” I didn’t like it at all “really? it got great reviews” no. What did you make of it? “I’ve not seen it yet… but I’ve heard good things, etc etc”).

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        September 16, 2018

        I’m pretty lucky. My sources, research, instincts and just rolling the dice seem to work.

        Liked by 1 person

      • the press music reviews
        March 17, 2021

        Which film?

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        March 17, 2021

        I think it was some slave film. Not my bag.

        Like

  3. Jim S.
    September 17, 2018

    I saw “Three Billboards” at the theater and dug it and then watched it again at home with my wife and it held up. Frances McDormand deservedly won an Oscar and she is worth watching in anything. I remember seeing “Bruges” but it’s been a while. Definitely out of left field. I don’t recall the “Hit a Canadian” part but I would never do that as they’re all so nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      September 17, 2018

      I will definitely check out ‘Billboards’. Yeah I like Frances. Lots of funny bits in ‘Bruges’. The Canadian deserved to get punched out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2018 by in 2008 Film, Academy Award Nomination, British Films, Comedy Film, Crime Film and tagged , .

Categories