Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : Yes – The Yes Album

download

CB’s musical tastes were taking him down all sorts of paths at this time and it was inevitable that he would stumble onto this album.  I forget exactly how it came about but I had a few friends who were great sources and I’m sure they steered me here.  There were similar bands I was listening to so that was the in.

The opening song on this record starts with a western movie soundtrack feel.  Loved the big sound.  The organ, drums , bass.  The organ stays on a note then the vocals come in.  Some guitar riffs add to the mix.  Steve Howe does some real great work.  Liked his sound.  Lots going on with this music and CB was digging it.  Changes of styles, tempo.  ‘Yours is no disgrace’ was a good start and whet the appetite.  Steve Howe does a solo on the second cut.  Sounded good to CB.  ‘Starship Trooper’ is a return to the whole band and to the big sound.  Like the way these guys meshed the music together.  Again it was a group effort with everyone kicking in with some great playing.  Love Chris Squire’s bass and Bill Bruford’s drums on this one.  Again lots of changes musically .  Some of it had that Jazzy fusion sound CB was listening to at the time.  Howe and Squire get into some cool playing near the end with Bruford joining in.  Kaye then fills it up with his thing.  Great jam.  Then Howe takes it out with some nice licks.  It reminded CB of Zappa’s playing.  Really dug the first side.

images

download-1

Group vocals opens side two with ‘I’ve seen all good people’.  Then Howe comes in with some nice acoustic guitar followed by thumping bass and drum sound.  Jon Anderson adds his vocals.  This tune started to hook CB on Anderson’s talent.  The voice fits this band.  He shines here.  CB liked the lyrics.  The recorder is a nice touch. Really solidifying their sound. Great tune.  Same as the previous tunes, the music changes and goes into some different styles.  They rock out in this one plus the jam thing again.  Howe goes to town and Squire and Bruford lay it down.  These guys could play.  Change of pace with  ‘A Venture’, the boys lay down some nice playing behind Anderson’s song, especially Kaye’s piano.  ‘Perpetual Change’ is back to that big sound again with the organ setting it up and the others joining in.  Tony Kaye’s organ playing appealed to CB and added big time to this record.  Anderson comes in with the vocals and things slow down then they pick it up again.  Really like the sound of this one.  Few more tempo changes then build to a heavier, louder sound.  Jazzy/Rock.

Liked everything about this record and band.  Throwing their individual ideas into the pot and coming up with the Yes sound and style.  These guys could play.  The Yes Album was another musical trip for CB.  Great intro to a really good band that made great music together.  He wasn’t going to stop at this record he was going to search out more.

(Note: At this time CB was discovering the connections with a lot of the bands he was listening to.  Bill Bruford on this one.  CB first heard Bill on King Crimson’s ‘Larks Tongues in Aspic’.  These connections would lead him to different and new bands.  It was amazing how many of these players would intermingle.  Like minds I guess)

 

18 comments on “Album : Yes – The Yes Album

  1. hotfox63
    April 9, 2017

    The Yes album from 1971 is definitely a milestone of the prog rock genres. But I never was a Yes fan!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim S.
    April 9, 2017

    You posted this just in time for Yes’ induction into the R&R Hall of Fame which happened a couple days ago. (Meant to do one myself. Never got around to it.) That won’t be broadcast for a while but apparently they had a big Chuck Berry tribute.

    Anyway, love me some Yes Album. Not a bad track on here. Steve Howe is, for guitarists, a god. I used to be able to play his “Mood for a Day.” Need to get back to that, re-learn at some point. That’s why I dig “Wurm” so much. Love that ending with him dueling with himself on guitar.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 9, 2017

      The timing was purely accidental. I’m going to watch ‘Percy’ that night (If I can find it). I just like this record and band. Howe sounds real good to me. I thought you’d dig him. He manages to get lots out of the old guitar(s). To even tackle his chops, my hat is off to you Doctor. (Listening to ‘The Clap’ as I type). He’s featured a lot on this album. But the rest of the band have their moments also. Thanks for chiming in.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. yeahanotherblogger
    April 9, 2017

    I think that Yes might be around in some configuration. That’s another one of those groups that has seen members come and go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 9, 2017

      I haven’t kept up with them over the years. But they made some great music and I’m sticking my ears back into it. Vinyl Connection has peeked my interest to listen to their later output. This album has some timeless stuff on it. There are no ‘I Almost Cut My Hair’ takes on this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Vinyl Connection
    April 10, 2017

    Yes to the Yes Album, where they really found their voice. Have written on lots of Yes albums (he he) but not this one, so thanks CB!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 10, 2017

      You gave some ink to it on your take of the best Yes albums. Like I said, your pieces have sent me back into this music. I’m enjoying it all over again and hearing all sorts of stuff I missed the first time around. Keep throwing the music out there, some of us are listening.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. catchgroove
    April 10, 2017

    Bill Bruford made a great solo album released in 1979 that is one of my faves. The band was called Bruford and the album was called One Of A Kind. Also the Bruford Tapes from the same era – that is a live version. Highly recommend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim S.
      April 10, 2017

      Bruford’s a monster. He’s on anybody’s list of best drummers ever.

      Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 10, 2017

        I just replied to catchgroove about Bill. Yeah I would agree. His work is top notch. I’m listening to him a lot lately and will continue. I forgot how Jazzy his first solo album is ( I’m hearing a lot of Zappa like stuff in it). I’m up for more of that stuff!! All you guys and gals are keeping CB in the loop. Thanks.

        Like

      • Jim S.
        April 10, 2017

        CB, you’re the glue that holds the entire blogosphere together. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        April 10, 2017

        Belly laugh over here!! Like the old Chinese guy who used to run the corner store in my neighborhood used to say, “You funny guy”

        Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 10, 2017

      I remember the piece you did on ‘One Of a Kind’. Like Bruce over at Vinyl Connection you have sent me back to this music. It’s amazing how good it sounds. I have ‘Feels Good To Me’ by Bruford. Why I would have stopped there is a question I can’t answer. I guess I did ok with a lot of the stuff I acquired but the cool thing is I have some good music to look forward too. Everything I have that Bill is on I really like. Including this one. Thanks for chiming in!

      Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 10, 2017

      I’m all over those recommendations.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. kutukamus
    April 17, 2017

    With Yesshows’ “Parallels”, Yes changed my ears forever.. 🙂
    I recommend anything up to “Going for the One” 🍸

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      April 17, 2017

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. This album was the start to my journey with the band. I’ve been revisiting their music and will get around to your recommendation . Thanks for the reminder.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2017 by in 1971 Album, Bill Bruford, Rock N Roll, Yes and tagged , , , .

Categories