Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Summers Gone – The Kinks

images (52)

CB will let The Kinks send the summer out in their style. Another great Kinks song that will get into your head.  CB always gets a little bummed when summer’s over.  I’ll just sit here with my buffalo and chill for the last few days of summer.

14 comments on “Summers Gone – The Kinks

  1. hotfox63
    August 17, 2017

    One of the better songs on “Word of Mouth”. However, the album has the typical – for my ears- cruel sound of many albums from this time: drumcomputer, midi-experiments, bad synthesizers. This may have been State of the Art, but I think it sounds terrible (at least from today’s point of view).

    Liked by 2 people

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 17, 2017

      Haven’t listened to the album for a while but I do dig this song. Ray had his finger on the “summer” pulse.

      Liked by 1 person

      • hotfox63
        August 18, 2017

        Yes, “Summer’s Gone” is funny! I like on the album “Do It Again”. The initial chord sounds like “A Hard Day’s Night”. The Kinks were also oriented to The Who on “Sold Me Out”. But the whole record was too much mainstream at the time, and that sounds somehow anachronistic today.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 18, 2017

        Yeah the whole album is never going to make it as one of my favorites but i like some of the songs on it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. christiansmusicmusings
    August 19, 2017

    To start with, summer is not gone – not yet! 🙂 I still find myself visiting one summer concert in the park after another. I saw a really cool Led Zeppelin tribute band called “Black Dog” on Wed.

    As for this tune, I like it! I think my favorite from that Kinks album is “Living On a Thin Line.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 19, 2017

      Yeah I jumped the gun on the summer being over. Negative Ned. I start missing it early. Summer is the time for the activities you’re taking in. Very cool!

      Yeah Ray wrote some of the best ‘Summer Songs”. Sunny Afternoon, Sitting In the Midday Sun and this one. ‘Thin Line’ is a good tune.

      Liked by 1 person

      • christiansmusicmusings
        August 19, 2017

        “Sunny Afternoon” is one of my favorite Kinks tunes – just love the song’s hook line!

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 19, 2017

        All time favorite! I’m going for a walk with my buffalo and enjoy some more summer. Thanks for dropping by.

        Liked by 1 person

      • christiansmusicmusings
        August 19, 2017

        Great idea. I’m currently running some errands, sitting in my car, and the thermometer says it’s 95 degrees, but I think I take that over the freezing New York winters any day!

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 19, 2017

        No kidding. A little Joe Cocker singing ‘Summer In the City’

        Like

  3. Jim S.
    August 19, 2017

    Never heard this one. By then I wasn’t really checking out the Kinks albums. Good ‘un.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 19, 2017

      It’s a Ray song all the way. His usual take on things. lesser know but still catchy. Plus it’s CB’s take on his favorite time of year coming to an end. I still get that shitty feeling about going back to school. Then i wake up and say “CB you don’t go to school anymore”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2017 by in 1984 Single, Rock and Roll, Summer, the kinks, Uncategorized and tagged , .

Categories

