Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Body & Soul – Coleman Hawkins

images (62)

This was my old-man’s favorite piece of music.  It became one of mine for many reasons. First off it is just a great piece.  The simple piano intro and then Hawk comes in with some of the best sax playing you’ll ever hear.  That CB ever heard anyway.  CB came back to this later in life and he can’t dig it enough.  My dad had great taste in music and an open mind to all kinds but this was the one that did it for him. It just moved him.

CB is a sax guy and a jazz guy.  I think Coleman Hawkins and my Dad had something to do with that.  This is my companion piece to ‘CB Hangs Out In Harlem’.  Play it Bean.

14 comments on “Body & Soul – Coleman Hawkins

  1. hotfox63
    August 6, 2017

    What can I say? There’s only one Coleman Hawkins. Great record!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 6, 2017

      I love his sound. I know sax players hold him in high regard. Sonny Rollins always gives a nod the Coleman. Love this tune.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Vinyl Connection
    August 7, 2017

    Fabulous. What an impeccable player he was.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 7, 2017

      He ‘s kinda the Granddaddy of the sax. A few others in that category.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vinyl Connection
        August 7, 2017

        Ben Webster and Johnny Hodges spring immediately to mind.

        Do you know that Reader’s Digest jazz box sets? Silver covers, all 3LP. They are fantastic resources for early jazz, and have brilliantly informative liner notes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 7, 2017

        I was going to say Ben and Johnny. I’m a bit of a Duke freak. Real soft spot for Lester Young also. So many good ones. All those guys like Rollins, Henderson etc. Listen to me name dropping like I’m a frickin expert. I do dig it though.
        Not familiar with the RDJ sets but will look into them. I have been fortunate to acquire all sorts of great records, box sets over the years. I’m a pig when it comes to this stuff. Get this Bruce. I just got ‘Duke Ellinton at Fargo 1940 Live’ 3 album box set. I’m on the moon with that one. Total luck.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vinyl Connection
        August 7, 2017

        That Ellington sound great! I’m yet to pay more than $5 for any RD set, mostly in mint condition. Check the bargain bins!

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 7, 2017

        Thanks for the tip. I will be on the lookout now. The wonderful world of music.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim S.
    August 9, 2017

    Very nice. My 79-year-old stepmother is a sax fan. She knows all these guys. Loves Johnny Hodges, Houston Person. Absolutely hates rock and roll. Most music downhill after Frank Sinatra as far as she’s concerned. One of those. But loves blues. Even saw SRV on Austin City Limits once and raved. Go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 9, 2017

      The wonderful world of music huh? Love her takes. I need to listen to more Houston. Thanks again for your input Doc. One of the reasons i fell for Bruce’s music at the start, Clarence had all those hard blowing solos. I’ve heard Hawk do this uncountable times and it never grows old. He’s in the all time “cool” club.

      Like

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 10, 2017

      When you did your Coltrane piece I told you I had a sax take coming up. Which doesn’t surprise me anymore about you and I being on the same page. Then you mention Houston Person. That leads me to this great box set I have called ‘Jazz With Prestige : A History of Prestige Jazz & Blues.’ It’s heavy with sax players. Coltrane is the cover photo. One of the CDs is called ‘Blowin’ Like Hell : Tenors, Organs & the Big Sound”. Houston is on that one along with a bunch of other hard players. It’s a good one.

      Like

      • Jim S.
        August 10, 2017

        That sounds mighty tasty. If CB’s wondering what to get me for Christmas, that fills the bill. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 10, 2017

        I was just wondering that exact thing today. “What should I get the Doc?” The right gift will pop up. Did you get last years gift?

        Like

      • Jim S.
        August 10, 2017

        Yeah but I already smoked most of it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2017 by in 1939 Single, Coleman Hawkins, Jazz, sax, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Categories

