Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Lone Me A Dime – Boz, Duane and Muscle Shoals

download (11)

This is just a fantastic piece of American music.  Boz Scaggs with the help of Duane Allman and the Muscle Shoals (and a few others)  put their talents together on ‘Lone Me a Dime’.  Songs like this keep CB rooted in this timeless music.  These are the kind of gems that you will find on a great site called Forgotten Rock Classics.  I have been reminded and turned onto so much good music here.  So go check out the take and this tune and see what else is happening.  I could have featured so many of the tunes off of FRC.  If CB had a radio station FRC would be one of the late night DJ’s.  Thanks for the “Loan”!

https://forgottenrockclassics.com/category/boz-skaggs/

12 comments on “Lone Me A Dime – Boz, Duane and Muscle Shoals

  1. Thom Hickey
    August 3, 2017

    Superb. It all came together here .. chops and feel.

    Regards Thom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim S.
    August 3, 2017

    I commented on this at FRC so I won’t repeat all that here. But a great, classic tune. Don’t hear much like this anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 3, 2017

      I seen your comment. It’s such a good piece of music. This stuff just keeps sounding better all the time. Duane’s ghost seems to have a very strong presence in my world.

      Like

  3. Heavy Metal Overload
    August 3, 2017

    Great track. Never heard the album though, just know this song from an Allman anthology.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 3, 2017

      Early Boz is pretty good. Not an expert on his stuff but tunes like this are gems. I knew Boz from his early work with Steve Miller which I really like. The Duane and Muscle Shoals combo would make me sound good.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heavy Metal Overload
        August 4, 2017

        Hahaha I’m sure they would! I particularly love Clarence Carter’s ‘Road Of Love’ myself. Great Duane/Shoals track!

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 4, 2017

        I have to give it a listen. That ‘Duane Anthology’ is a good one. I’m listening to more and more Duane all the time.

        Like

  4. dcw0731
    August 4, 2017

    CB Thanks for the shout out. This happens to be one of my favorite posts of all time. My other favorite was the one on Mountain “Nantucket Sleighride”. Keep on rocking CB
    .

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 4, 2017

      No problem. This cut was a no brainer. You have a few like really got me. Top of my head , the ‘Lazy’ take with the other version by Jimmy Barnes and Joe Bonamassa was a beauty. Never get tired of Mountain.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah, Another Blogger
    August 4, 2017

    Morning CB.

    Boz is still out there doing his thing.
    He’s an ace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

