Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Music Single : To Her Door – Paul Kelly and the Messengers

images (63)

This was the first song I heard by Paul Kelly and the Messengers and it was right up my alley.  It’s another one of those story songs that CB loves.  It delivers big time.  It still sounds good today.  I’ve listened to it a lot.  I listened to the whole album a lot.  Paul Kelly has a strong collection of recordings and this is the one that got me on board.  I even learned some Australian slang.  I figured this was a good piece to go with the ‘I Remember You’ piece by Mumbling About…  The Australian connection.   Check it out and hear a big talent and some of that low down guitar.  I really dig this cut.

13 comments on “Music Single : To Her Door – Paul Kelly and the Messengers

  1. Vinyl Connection
    July 27, 2017

    Great choice, CB. Paul Kelly is the real deal as a songwriter. Nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 27, 2017

      ‘Gods Hotel’ and ‘Special Treatment’ are a couple of my favorite tunes, period. He has so many. Had a chance to see him over here a few times. I’m a fan for a long time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. hotfox63
    July 27, 2017

    This is the first time I heard of Paul Kelly. I give him a shot and listen to a few of songs. Nice done, without arrangement-eccentricity, without attitude. Reminds me of The Go-Betweens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 27, 2017

      ‘Gods Hotel’. I think you’ll like it. Co written with Nick Cave. Like Bruce said, “He’s the real deal”. You can’t go wrong with anything he does.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim S.
    July 28, 2017

    Good tune. I think our fellow blogger from Australia (the Jerz) did a few pieces that first ntroduced me to Kelly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 28, 2017

      I think you are correct. Like Vinyl Connection said about Kelly “He’s the real deal”

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jim S.
        July 28, 2017

        Hey did you see my comment on Catchgroove’s site when you were talking about movies? It was addressed directly to film buff CB.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        July 28, 2017

        No I never. I’ll head over

        Like

  4. shespeaksadifferentlanguage
    August 20, 2017

    Top song, gets better with age.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aphoristical
    October 20, 2017

    I didn’t realise that Paul Kelly and Neil Finn have a live album together https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jaTwLDZpnKU

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      October 20, 2017

      I will check that out. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aphoristical
        October 20, 2017

        There’s actually a much better 2 and a half hour clip that I found after I posted that one. I think think it’s 2013 opera house and was released as a live album.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

