Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Music Single : Dress – P J Harvey

download (30)

This gal can rock. .  The tune cooks.  Three piece rocking out.  First time I heard PJ was on a Hal Hartley soundtrack.  Caught my attention so I checked more of her stuff out.  I was hooked.

She’s the real deal.  She makes great music.  Doesn’t hurt that she has Rob Ellis and Mick Harvey helping out.  How can 3 people make such a full sound?  She’s no pretender.  A unique talent.  Like I said this song rocks and that’s what it’s all about.  If CB was at this show he would have stuck his head right in the speaker.

Hotfox63 did a piece on her so it reminded me of how much I like her.  Tune into ‘CB Takes Another Trip Into the Future’  for more of hotfox63.

“It’s hard to walk in the dress, it’s not easy” .  CB wouldn’t know bout that.  I’ll take PJ’s word for it.

16 comments on “Music Single : Dress – P J Harvey

  1. Vinyl Connection
    July 23, 2017

    Somehow I’ve avoided ever hearing a PJ album. Probably should remedy that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hotfox63
    July 23, 2017

    Catchy refrain, fine guitar work …… Has something erotic and seductive about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim S.
    July 23, 2017

    Ok, so I’ve known her name for a long time but haven’t paid enough attention. This song really rocks. I’m diggin’ it. Plus like the best rockers, she’s kinda sexy. Is all her stuff this good?

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 23, 2017

      Check this out from Fox’s page and let me know about “kinda sexy” and good. The first song I heard was ‘Water’ off her first album. When she has people like Rob Ellis and Mick Harvey (Nick Caves buddy) in her corner that says a lot and sounds great. She takes big swings.
      https://hotfox63.com/2017/06/16/12105/#comments

      Like

      • Jim S.
        July 23, 2017

        That was a smokin’ tune for sure. I tried to comment over on his sit but it kept telling me I had to log in to comment. After two attempts when i was logged in I gave up. Zero patience for software bullshit errors.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        July 23, 2017

        Maybe if you go at it straight to Fox instead of through my link (CB giving tech advice, what the @#&^^$#) it will work. I’m sure he’d appreciate the comment. Doc the the bottom line with PJ is she rocks hard! That’s what caught my ear in the first place.

        Like

      • Jim S.
        July 23, 2017

        I’ll give it one more shot but that’s it, three strikes and out. I spend half the day troubleshooting PC, phone and other SW glitches. Just a tremendous pain in the ass. I don’t get it as I understand the process and it shows me logged in on his site. If you don’t see it over there, it didn’t work. Try again some other day.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        July 23, 2017

        My electronics end up out the back door. CB loses it with that shit

        Like

      • Jim S.
        July 23, 2017

        That actually worked. But not quite like you thought. If I go to his main home page, there is no trace of that post. So I had to go over there and piece together the URL. Then it worked, I don’t get it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        July 23, 2017

        Don’t ask me Doc. “I don’t get” a lot of things especially this computer stuff. Hit and miss.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. christiansmusicmusings
    July 24, 2017

    Wow, this young lady is pretty furious. There is also something really cool about power trios. It requires each musician to work extra-hard and is not easy to pull off.

    It looks like the link to the clip you posted no longer works, so here’s another clip of the song a found. This one’s a live version. Not sure what you had there before

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 24, 2017

      The two guys she’s playing with on the cut know how to rock. The link I posted works some places and yes it’s it’s the same cut. Great! If you look at one of the comments I made to Music Enthusiast above about another link to hotfox63 you will see her doing a solo ‘Rid Of Me’. It is also super cool.

      Like

  5. 1537
    July 25, 2017

    I’ve loved her stuff since year dot – ‘To Bring You My Love’ is an incredible LP, I’m a sucker for all that swampy stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 25, 2017

      Me too. Like I said i first heard her on a Hal Hartley soundtrack. I think the movie was ‘Ameteur’. The cut was ‘Water’, perfect. Instantly grabbed me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2017 by in 1991 Single, P. J. Harvey, Rock N Roll, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Categories

