Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Jack Johnson, Miles and CB

images (54)

As a kid one of the first athletes CB heard about was Jack Johnson, the one time heavy weight champion of the world.  The music CB heard about the most was jazz.  Coleman Hawkins to be specific.  This was passed onto me by my old man. To this day I’m a big fan of both.  My old-man never saw Johnson fight (he was too young) but saw a few of the other greats of his day.  His knowledge of Jack was amazingly accurate.  He saw a lot of the great jazz guys of his day also.  He was in the service so somehow that put him in places to hear and see Jazz.  So this is a no brainer to have Vinyl Connection come aboard and share his review of Miles Davis’s ‘Jack Johnson’.  It’s a really good read.  VC is another go to guy on my list.  His site is always interesting and full of great stuff.  Thanks Bruce!  By the way I love this record.

( I’m am also forever grateful to Vinyl Connection for turning me onto the vocal chords of Florence Jenkins. I’m still in amazement that after hearing only 10 to 15 seconds of Flo I need not hear any more. Permanently embedded in my head)

JACK JOHNSON — SAY IT LOUD

15 comments on “Jack Johnson, Miles and CB

  1. Vinyl Connection
    July 13, 2017

    Thanks for the inclusion/link, CB.
    I’m also particularly impressed that your lasted that long with Florence.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 13, 2017

      Now that’s funny! No problem on the “inclusion”. I love that whole take. And I really dig the music Miles was doing. Your’re comment about Mclaughlin and Davis is bang on.

      Like

  2. Jim S.
    July 13, 2017

    I commented over on VC’s site. Thanks for the reminder. This one was in the mental attic. Grooving to it now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 13, 2017

      VC like yourself pulls out these gems. “Mental attic”. I like that!

      Like

      • Jim S.
        July 13, 2017

        Yeah, there’s a lot stored up there for all of us music nutjobs.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        July 13, 2017

        There’s a few I would like to delete. You know the ones I’m talking about.

        Like

      • Jim S.
        July 13, 2017

        Yeah. I usually sing those out loud to my wife so she can inherit them. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, Another Blogger
    July 14, 2017

    Miles was something else. So many great albums. If I had to pick only one of his albums, maybe it would be Bitches Brew. To me, it’s revolutionary.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 14, 2017

      Can’t argue with you on that Neil. It will be coming up on CB’s station when I get back to my regular rhythm. ‘Jack Johnson’ is in the same vein. Bruce at Vinyl Connection does a good job with his take on the album. Get time check it out. Later. CB

      Liked by 1 person

  4. catchgroove
    July 15, 2017

    I love electric Miles. I find it amusing that some suggest he was selling out. Although inspired by Sly, James Brown and Hendrix, this is very challenging music. It is not pop by any means. Nice piece. Appreciate you sharing some of your favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim S.
      July 15, 2017

      I’m with you guys on Miles’ electric stuff as by and large, fusion was my main introduction to jazz. But I’ve found over time that I tend to prefer the classic acoustic sound, especially of his quintets. It just resonates more with me. So the electric stuff for me is a side dish but the main dish is that period that pivots around ‘Kind of Blue’ before and after.

      Liked by 2 people

      • catchgroove
        July 15, 2017

        You can’t go wrong with acoustic stuff either. For me it depends on my mood.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jim S.
        July 15, 2017

        Agreed that’s definitely a factor.

        Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        July 15, 2017

        His stuff is one big feast of great music. And the “mood’ thing comes into play. But sometimes just putting on his stuff, it just grabs you and there is no choice. That’s what this “electric” Miles does to me.

        Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 15, 2017

      You’re a Mac fan so it’s a no brainer. I ate up all these Miles recordings in this era. Like I said, I’m enjoying this “guest” thing. Thanks for the nod.

      ( Been listening to ‘The Epic’ regular. It’s great that these guys and gals are continuing to make this kind of music. Great stuff)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2017 by in boxing, Jack Johnson, Jazz, Miles Davis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Categories

