Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

CB and Riff City

download (28)

Who says no ones playing good hard rock n roll anymore?  I don’t know, who? Not 1537.

1537 is one of CB’s go to guys for keeping his finger on the pulse with newer (plus older stuff) music.  He showed the way with this album.  CB can’t help himself, this music strikes a chord, a big heavy chord.  Fu Manchu is the band and ‘King of the Road’ is the album.  I found a concert on the web. ‘Fu Manchu Live at Rockpalast’ and that furthered the deal.

I won’t say anything more I’ll let 1537 do that. So here’s the take by 1537 that hooked me.  CB isn’t an easy sell.  All it took was one listen to the first cut.  Relentless heavy rock n roll, Fu Manchu style.  No bullshit, just guys rocking hard.  Have a read by another one of CB’s favorite music guys and see what you think (He has a smorg of great stuff on his station).  As my fellow Canadian Moe Berg said, I ate this up  “like some cheese eating high-school boy”.  That’s CB.  I’m going to go make a cheese sandwich (sharp cheese) and rock out with Fu Manchu.  I like this album.  Thanks Agent 1537 you sold me on this one.

Flat Out Against The Freaks

13 comments on “CB and Riff City

  1. Vinyl Connection
    July 9, 2017

    Cool. Factlet (that’s a little fact)…
    1537 didn’t sell me the record, but due to his review the album cover appeared in the ‘Autos’ series.
    https://vinylconnection.com.au/2015/08/11/10-more-motorised-album-covers/

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 9, 2017

      Those kind of “Factlet’s” are what CB is on here for. Every once in a while a band like Fu Manchu strikes a chord (riff) with CB and I’m gone. Sort of like a brainwashed thing. I’m programmed to respond.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, Another Blogger
    July 9, 2017

    Thanks CB. I’d never heard of them before. They rock!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim S.
    July 9, 2017

    Good crash n’ burn album. I’m not orgasmic over it like 1537 but it’s cruising music for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 9, 2017

      I’m a fan. The “Rockpalast” gig cemented it. I like their style. No props just get out of the van and play. Plus they dress like CB. Just good to see bands holding the fort.

      Like

  4. 1537
    July 11, 2017

    Thank you very much indeed. I’m flattered. If I can turn someone on to something I really like, then my work here is done.

    They are excellent live and thoroughly nice fellows too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heavy Metal Overload
    August 27, 2017

    Mr. 1537 has given me many good recommendations over the years. I’m happy to say, though, that I’ve ignored every single one of them. Just cause I like winding him up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 27, 2017

      Oh yeah. One of the reasons I tune into the various stations. 1537 has lots of off the beaten track music. It’s like the old time FM late night DJ’s. I like to have the reminders of stuff I have or know but new avenues are great. Similar to the stuff I’m getting from you. Opeth for one. He’s a little bent which is a bonus.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Categories

