Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Hitting A Nerve With CB

download (26)

The history of our indigenous peoples is something CB is on a bit of a quest with.  Something that has always interested him.  Something that has got into his being.  That’s a good thing.  It’s something he wants to know all about.  He is getting a big wake-up call.

I met greenpete58 on these pages.  I went and checked out his site.  My main interest is in  music and film which greenpete does a great job with (I wanted to re-post a few of his Western genre film pieces).  But he also has some other very cool articles on social and environmental topics.  I stumbled on the one I’m borrowing, a review he did of a  book called “Blood On the Marias : The Baker Massacre”.  I was instantly taken.  Do yourself a favor and check it out.  It’s a fantastic piece and hit home for CB.  Thank you Pete for more fuel for the fire.

( The reason Pete’s page caught my attention was there was a picture of a bowl of chili, a picture of an owl and a picture of Woody Guthrie’s guitar.  3 of CB’s favorite things.  Thanks again Pete for educating me more on my little journey).

https://peterkurtz.wordpress.com/2016/05/01/blood-on-the-marias/

8 comments on “Hitting A Nerve With CB

  1. Yeah, Another Blogger
    July 7, 2017

    Hi CB. I’m a fan of Pete’s website too. He’s written lots of good articles. You probably read his recent stories about the radio station he worked at a long time ago.

    See ya’ —

    Liked by 2 people

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 7, 2017

      I usually stick to the music/film thing but this piece just grabbed me. Because of Pete’s review and the subject matter I read the book. CB usually keeps it pretty light but I can’t turn a blind eye to this stuff. Books like this can make a change in people. It has me. Greenpetes piece about working at the “radio station” is a very good read. It amazes me the high level of writing I’m finding on these sites. It keeps me away from the mainstream stuff that does not turn CB’s crank. Yeah, Pete hit a nerve with this one. Thanks Neil.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. greenpete58
    July 7, 2017

    Thanks to both of you for the kind words (and for the link to my blog, CB). Glad you like my stuff. I always enjoy reading the articles on your blogs, as well. You’re both very talented… and good people.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 7, 2017

      No problem. So many of your pieces to choose from. ‘Marias’ was a total gut call. Hope the people take time to give it a read. I’m sure they will be glad they did. I really liked the book. It’s still bringing up stuff with me. Keep up the great work.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony
    July 7, 2017

    It’s a fascinating subject. I’ve a few good books on it. The obvious one being Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee. I’ll have to dig the others out now

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 7, 2017

      Send some of your others my way if you don’t mind. Love to see what you have. Very cool that you’re up on this. I’ve read quite a bit and can’t get enough of it. Mostly non fiction but one fiction that you might enjoy is ‘Black Hills’ by Dan Simmons. “Fascinating subject” for sure. Thanks for commenting Tony. Pete does a great job on his site.

      Like

  4. dcw0731
    July 9, 2017

    CB glad you gave the shout out to Pete. His post on “Blood On the Marias : The Baker Massacre” is a great read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

