Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Monk’s Dream

images (58)

This was the first tune I heard from Thelonious Monk and if there was ever an instant for  falling for music this was it.  Right from Monk’s fantastic opening piano on through the tune.  I never heard piano like that.  It was off kilter but on it’s own kilter at the same time.  It’s on Monk time.  Unique to CB’s ears.  It still does it for him.

The accompaniment is perfect.  John Ore bass, Frankie Dunlop drums and Charlie Rouse sax.  Rouse kicks in and they all continue to swing.  Monk backs off and lets Charlie have the floor.  The sax was another big reason this song grabbed me.  Charlie never played better.  Monk comes back in and does his thing.

This tune got into my blood and introduced me to one of my favorite musicians. Needless to say I have devoured everything he’s done.

This is my companion piece to yeahanotherbloger’s guest spot on ‘Hangin’ with Monk”

17 comments on “Monk’s Dream

  1. hotfox63
    June 29, 2017

    This album makes Bepop really joyful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 29, 2017

      It certainly got a hold of me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • hotfox63
        June 29, 2017

        “There are no wrong notes; some are just more right than others” TM. Nice, but you definitely got to be in the “cool” zone.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 29, 2017

        Thelonious was in the “cool zone” for sure. Good to see people still dig him and are discovering his music.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim S.
    June 29, 2017

    Don’t know this album. Once I get out of my current three-chord Kinks mode, I’ll switch over to full-bore jazz head and give it a spin. Thanks, Mr. Babyhead.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 29, 2017

      No problem. That’s what the Babyhead does. (Plays some cards and smokes cigars on the side). Soooo much good music out there. Thelonious just does it for me. I like the sound of this record.

      Like

  3. Tony
    June 29, 2017

    I’ve not walked down those streets where jazz plays out from the windows and fills the night air with horns and tinkled ivories but I’m liking this one a lot

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim S.
      June 29, 2017

      Man, that is some poetic shit you said right there.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Tony
        June 29, 2017

        I blame having the Monk in my ears, man 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 29, 2017

        You have been “Monked”. Life as you know it won’t be the same. If this is your first spin and he’s speaking to you, Man you are in a fantastic place. Try getting that out of your head.

        Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 29, 2017

      I’ll have to agree with Jim’s comment. Very well done .

      Like

  4. jerseydreaming
    July 2, 2017

    You’ve made me want to head back to the Village. This is my kinda jazz.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 2, 2017

      Monk is… well he’s Monk. And yeah I hear you. In shaking things up a bit with CB I have a take coming that I think you will find very interesting. Combines Jazz, NY, film and photography. I know you like the camera’s eye.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jim S.
    July 3, 2017

    Listening while I work. Very nice but I knew it would be. The only jazz I’m not particularly fond of is “outside” jazz which, try though I might, I cannot get into it. Another nice one there Cincinnatus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 3, 2017

      Very cool. Monk is another unique musician (Talk about an interesting story). Not everyones taste but CB digs him. The “outside” jazz is a bit of a hard sell but I like it. Kinda have to be in the mood for it. Also depends who’s playing it. Some of it sounds like guys like CB picking up an instrument for the first time and making noise. Later fella.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2017 by in 1962 singles, Jazz, Thelonious Mon, Thelonious Monk, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Categories

