Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Music Single : Can’t Hardly Wait – The Replacements

download (14)

CB absolutely loves this tune.  Everything about it.  The lyrics, the beat, the horns, all of it.  What a great song by a great band.  Every time I hear it it puts me in a great mood.  I love this song.  Required listening in CB’s musical world.  Rock n roll Replacements style.

You want to see a band having fun playing, watch the clip below from an appearance on SNL.  Man are they good.  Special tune for CB.  Bad sloppy quality video just the way the boys would like it.  CB wanted to be in this band. (A little companion piece with catchgrooves ‘Wild Stab’ take on ‘CB Travels Into the Future’)

 

13 comments on “Music Single : Can’t Hardly Wait – The Replacements

  1. hotfox63
    June 24, 2017

    It ‘s quite fast in the ear, the song … The Replacements are a great American rock band in history, period. I also like Westerberg’s solo albums, especially “14 Songs”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1537
    June 25, 2017

    They were just incapable of being uncool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 25, 2017

      That’s because they weren’t trying to be cool. The best part of the video is just before they roll the credits. Westerberg and Heston looking at each other for a second. Id like to throw a couple thought balloons over their heads.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony
    June 26, 2017

    Love, love LOVE this song. I think when it came out a lot attention was paid to the sound quality (no hiss between beats) and the use of brass… if you listen to the ‘Tim Version’ as it were there’s a real difference in both sound and vibe.
    Great beat and lyrics “he never buys any smokes”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 26, 2017

      On the same page with this one. Yeah I heard the studio version first but this clip just has a great vibe. Westerberg writes great songs and that lyric you pointed out is embedded in my head. Great image. In the clip they just capture the fun of playing. Even the SNL band got caught up in it. Great tune, band, performance. Thanks for commenting Tony.

      Like

  4. Jim S.
    June 26, 2017

    Good tune and I know a lot of people really love this band. But I never really “got” them. Off my radar for some reason. It just so happens I saw them but they were opening for Elvis Costello. I wanted to see them but we got there late due to traffic. (This was late ’80’s.) Saw some of their show but not enough to knock me into their camp.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 26, 2017

      Elvis had guts and taste on that choice. Yeah Doc I’ve missed or just had bands/music that never got me. Lots of them. With these guys I just liked their don’t give a shit, ragged attitude, combined with their style of rock n roll. Give ‘King of America’ off Wild Stab a listen ,I think you’ll like it. I could hear a lot of the people we like do this tune. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 26, 2017

      Being a rock historian there are some good stories on their appearances on SNL. G.E. Smith has a couple.

      Like

      • Jim S.
        June 26, 2017

        I remember G.E., sure. Good guitarist, cool dude.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 26, 2017

        Yup, that’s the guy. The guys a walking rock n roll encyclopedia among those things you said.

        Like

  5. catchgroove
    June 27, 2017

    This is in my top 5 songs. Everything about it. We are on the same wavelength here. So many cool features, the riff, the horns, the pleading in Westerberg voice, the lyrics, the awkward pauses, the fact is the last song on the album (like they were embarrassed of its brilliance), I could go on and on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 27, 2017

      Me too. It fits perfect with your take. They were so refreshing and they still put me in a great space. Not one false, bullshit thing about these guys. But it always comes back to the music and these guys delivered. I’m still stuck on ‘Wild Stab’. It has hit the spot. I think I’ll move onto Mould here shortly and listen the hell out of that one next. Thanks man!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2017 by in 1987 Single, Rock N Roll, The Replacements, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Categories

