Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : The Kinks – Muswell Hillbllies

download (2)

After listening to ‘The Greatest Hits’.  CB went on a Kinks binge.  ‘Hillbillies’ was one of the first albums he acquired.  Like a lot of albums bought in the day, it was bought not knowing or having heard anything from it.  Bought on rep from previous records.  So your expecting and hoping for good things.  This album delivered for CB.  The opening cut ’20th Century Man’ was all Kinks.  It was all there.  CB would have been happy just with this song.  The song builds and just gets better.  ‘Schizophrenia’ has that Ray Davies sense of humor with some New Orleans jazz horns thrown in.  “Holiday’ is one of those Kinks songs like ‘Sunny Afternoon’,  same vibe.  Ray’s take a guy on a little forced holiday.

The band takes the same feel into the rest of the songs.  Observations on issues people deal with every day.  CB could relate.  It’s all done with that sense of humor Davies writes with.   ‘Alcohol’ and ‘Holloway Jail’ are little tunes about falling from grace.  ‘People in Grey’ a rocker/blues number with some nice guitar from Dave Davies.

download (3)

A special nod to ‘Have a Cup a Tea’ (Their second tea song).  CB had all the makings of a tea drinker and this song pushed him over the age.  Yup.  I love my tea.  Try getting this tune out of your head.

All the songs and music on this album have an appeal.  Some great playing. Horns, accordion etc.  Different styles with the Kinks throwing in a few kinks.  The song writing and the music that accompanies it are what appealed to CB.  He just liked this band and their music.  This album was different from the singles he had heard but it was still all there.  At look at things from The Kinks perspective.  This album gives CB a good feeling.  That’s what the Kinks do!   Yup,  “I’m a Musswell Hillbilly boy”

images (2)

Just remember,  if you’re having a shit day for what ever the reason, “For Christ sake have a cuppa tea”.

( Cool album cover.  A CB fave)

( Music Enthusiast has a great review on another Kinks album, ‘Arthur’, check it out )

 

19 comments on “Album : The Kinks – Muswell Hillbllies

  1. Vinyl Connection
    June 18, 2017

    OF the significant UK sixties bands, The Kinks are the least known to me (other than the singles, of course). Thanks for the lead, CB.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 18, 2017

      The Kinks and The Who were the two out of that bunch that appealed to me. The Kinks were doing all that ‘Preservation’, ‘Schoolboys’, ‘Soap Opera’ stuff which I just ate up. I love this record. They could do no wrong with CB. Thanks Bruce.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1537
    June 18, 2017

    My (sort of) Godmother used to teach with Ray Davies’ wife. That’s all I’ve got here – I have never seen this LP in the flesh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 18, 2017

      Those connections are the best (idea for a take). Forget about the music, the cover is cool. You should check out ‘Schoolboys”. On the back they take a page out of Angus and the boys book.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim S.
    June 18, 2017

    CB, when you and I were talking about the Kinks over at my place, you told me you were planning on doing a Kinks album. I told you I thought I knew what it was. My guess was ‘Village Green.’ I was wrong but that’s OK. This is a really good album. Haven’t heard it in ages. Ray and Dave Davies are, of course, from a suburb of London called … Muswell Hill. “Oh, demon alcohol!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 18, 2017

      You’ll be able to fill in all the gaps in my Kinks knowledge soon. I had a buddy who drank in that pub that’s on the cover. Being a guitar guy you’d appreciate Dave’s work on ‘Here Come the People in Grey’. I always liked his playing.

      Like

      • Jim S.
        June 18, 2017

        And here’s a thing – that pub isn’t even in Muswell Hill! Yeah, I’m workin’ on the series. It’s challenging when you’re looking back from 50+ afters after a band started and saying ,Where’s the story? and What songs do I choose out of all the great ones. Look for the series late this month, early next depending on how well I get my shit together.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 18, 2017

        Sooo much material. I’m curious on how you handle it. It will have the Docs touch. I really do like this band a lot. You already did one of my all time favorite songs (not just Kinks songs) with ‘Waterloo Sunset’. Hey, you can’t go wrong.

        Like

  4. hotfox63
    June 18, 2017

    Probably one of the best Kinks records, or at least Ray Davies warmest symphaties for the working class, the outsiders and the pubs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. catchgroove
    June 18, 2017

    Like one of your other commenters, I am pretty unfamiliar with the Kinks beyond their most famous hits. So this will be a good tip to start the exploration.

    I also need to explore Ray’s latest solo. He uses one of my favorite bands, The Jayhawks, as his band.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 18, 2017

      It certainly will give you a good taste of what they were doing. I don’t think there was a single i remember hearing off this one. They are like the tale of two bands, singles/albums. Oh yeah, they have a great “tea” song for you.

      That is very cool on Ray hooking up with the Jayhawks. I will definitely look that one up. Thanks for the lead. I seen him a few years ago and he had a bunch of young guys from LA who backed him. They rocked hard.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. yeahanotherblogger
    June 18, 2017

    Hi. The Kinks were fantastic. So many great albums. This might be my favorite of all of them, though it’s hard to choose. Arthur is fantastic. So is Village Green. So is Something Else. And others too.

    See ya’, CB.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 18, 2017

      I hear you on the “hard to choose” thing. I was lucky to grab this one back when but I really couldn’t have went wrong on any of them. I really like what they were doing with the ‘Misfits’, ‘Sleepwalker’ albums. hey, I just like the Kinks music. Thanks for chiming in. Later.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. dcw0731
    June 23, 2017

    CB great album choice. As a Kinks fan I pretty much enjoy all their albums but this one does stand out a little bit more then others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 23, 2017

      I guess with the Kinks it’s like the one you’re playing at the time is the favorite. ‘Hillbillies’ always comes to mind for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: The Kinks (pt. 3) – It’s Only Juke Box Music – Music Enthusiast

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      July 2, 2017

      You just keep nailing it. The thing that comes across in your piece is that they were unique and different plus we got a slice of Rays English culture.. That’s one of the reasons CB liked them, plus the music (Great choices for songs Doc). I could hear Townshend saying that.

      Like

      • Jim S.
        July 2, 2017

        That’s funny. We’re in some weird parallel universe where your comment on my Kinks series wound up on your site instead of mine. I think it’s because you clicked on my link to your site which brought you here. I got your comment referring me over here from my site.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2017 by in 1971 Album, Dave Davies, Ray Davies, Rock Music, the kinks, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Categories

