Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : The Band

download

CB had taken the plunge with ‘The Best Of the Band’.  So where did he go from here?  To the record store to get more music by these guys.  This is the album he chose.  He was familiar with a few of the cuts on the album but there was plenty of new tunes for him to discover.  He was not disappointed.  He got more of the sound he wanted right off the bat with ‘Across the Great Divide’.  It was all there.  Then it was right into ‘Rag Mama Rag’ and he was getting even more.  There was fiddle playing, not virtuoso but it sounded fantastic and it fit perfectly into the music these guys were making.  Great vocals, piano, lyrics.  ‘Dixie’ was next and a song CB had heard and liked.  These kinds of “story songs” always appealed to him.  It is just a real good tune.  Creating all sorts of images.  Like a movie soundtrack.

One of the things that CB was digging about these guys (among other things) was the different voices.  Richard Manuel, Levon Helm and Rick Danko took turns and the songs seemed to suit their styles.  ‘Cripple Creek’ was another familiar tune and becoming a favorite.  Just the playing,  the lyrics and the energy behind it.  “I’m kinda tempted to go and see my Bessie again”.  ‘Whispering Pines’ is just a beautiful song with some nice vocals.  Garth Hudson’s keyboards are the perfect touch.

Side two opens with a great riff on ‘Jemima’ and some more great music.  These guys just weren’t making a bad song.  ‘Rockin’ Chair’, ‘Cleveland’ (with some nice licks from Robertson) continue that trend.  “Jawbone’,   “I’m a thief and I dig it”.  CB dug the tune.

It’s hard not to  give a a word on each song  especially when there isn’t a weak one.  ‘Servant’ is such a good song for so many reasons, the vocals, mandolin but it’s the sax  at the end that does it for CB.  How subtle and beautiful.  ‘King Harvest’ ends the album and takes you out with The Band doing their thing.

download

 

No fireworks  or flash and dash, just some unique music being played by a group of guys who were making it their way.  Drawing on their individual influences and putting it together to make their style.  CB wasn’t hearing a lot of music like it but this stuff was getting into his blood.

My question was how do you make a “Best of” album of this music?  There wasn’t a bad cut on the album.  So what was he missing from the other albums?  CB was now going to get everything these guys recorded.

(Music Enthusiast did a bang up job on ‘The Band” back in March.  Check it out.  It’s worth it for the newcomer to their music and also to people who are familiar with them)

( Aphoristical drops a good review on this album also. Swing over and have a look)

 

28 comments on “Album : The Band

  1. Jim S.
    June 4, 2017

    Can’t find much to say to improve on this, CB. Thanks for the shout-out. As a result of spending so much time reading about the guys, I went out and bought the 40th-anniversary edition of ‘The Last Waltz.’ Good car stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 5, 2017

      Your piece was a fave. ‘Waltz’ is good car and everything else stuff. A little envious over here. I think you must be getting a feel for which way CB leans when it comes to his favorite bands.

      Like

      • Jim S.
        June 5, 2017

        No need to be envious. It’s not embossed in gold. I think I paid about 25 bucks for it. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 5, 2017

        I was just thinking of the good listening you’re having.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jim S.
        June 5, 2017

        Although that said, I tend to focus heavily on the latest thing I’m posting. But I find the residual effects rewarding. So I bought that set and now have the Dead on car satellite presets. Etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 5, 2017

        I find that when I read posts by others it nudges me to listen. I’m heading for a stroll Doc. Last time you suggested Steely Dan. Any top of the head stuff today

        Like

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        June 5, 2017

        I’m out the door Doc. Allman Brothers ‘Fillmore Concerts’ on the headphones!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. yeahanotherblogger
    June 4, 2017

    You know, this album is scarey good. Magnificent songs. Some people like The Bands first album more than this one, but I’d take this one. Both albums, though, are fantastic.

    A few years ago my wife and I went to the Woodstock area for a few days. We tracked down the Big Pink house where they lived for a while. It’s an unassuming but historic place.

    See you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 5, 2017

      It’s real hard for me to pick one over the other. I know those two get all the ink but the others get played a lot over here also. To me it all goes into one big pot. I love their music!
      I figured Big Pink would be unassuming just like the Band.

      Thanks for your persistence Neil. For some reason your comment and a few other were going into spam. The Princess fixed it for dear old dad. I’m a happy camper again. This is just too much fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. yeahanotherblogger
    June 4, 2017

    CB, I wrote comments a minute ago but they don’t seem to have posted.

    Like

  4. catchgroove
    June 4, 2017

    I am big Dylan guy – so he was my introduction to The Band. I too love that there are multiple vocalist. Heard a few podcasts early this year with Robbie as he was selling his book. Fascinating character.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 4, 2017

      We all have our bands that hit a nerve, you’ve stated a few of yours. The Band is definitely one of mine. When I saw The Last Waltz I got an idea how Dylan and the band worked together on stage. It was a true collaboration of some great musical ideas. Love that stuff they did.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. yeahanotherblogger
    June 4, 2017

    Hi. I write comments from your site but they didn’t post. I’ll try now to see if I can do it via the Reader.

    I agree. This album is fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yeahanotherblogger
    June 4, 2017

    CB, I’m having a lot of trouble getting my comments to go through. I’ll try again now.
    I agree. This is a very great album.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. yeahanotherblogger
    June 4, 2017

    My comments aren’t posting. I tried a few times and I’ll try again. Maybe something is wrong on your sites settings?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jim S.
    June 4, 2017

    Trying another comment for fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. yeahanotherblogger
    June 4, 2017

    Hi. My comments didn’t post earlier today. I’ll try again.

    This is a great album. One of my all time faves.

    Okay, I’m going to hit the “Post Comment” button.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. cincinnatibabyhead
    June 5, 2017

    test

    Like

  11. greenpete58
    June 5, 2017

    (Hope my comment prints). “Big Pink” is chock full of great songs, but this one surpasses it. Not a bad song here. When a record is this good, why do you even need a “Best of” collection? Answer: there’s a large record company lurking behind it. Some artists (Dylan, the Beatles) are so good that a “Best of” compilation is a sort of insult.

    Liked by 2 people

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      June 5, 2017

      “Large record company lurking” I’m chuckling because that is so true. I watched something recently where Capital dropped Johnny Cash just before he went onto record all those great albums late in his career.
      Like you say with certain artists the task would be overwhelming. And you’d need the the artist there to keep the “lurkers” at bay. The Band really strikes a chord with me. Thanks for commenting Pete. (I might do a little better on a Band questionnaire
      than on the Beatles but I would probably choke)

      Liked by 1 person

  12. 1537
    June 5, 2017

    Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Aphoristical
    June 6, 2017

    Thanks for the shoutout!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. dcw0731
    June 12, 2017

    Great album choice CB. Loved the review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

