Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : Cream – Best Of Cream

download

Cream fast became one of CB’s favorite all time groups.  By the time he got to this album they were no longer a band.   ‘Fresh Cream’ was one of the first albums CB heard (First album CB gave his take on in this thing he does).  ‘Disraeli Gears’ was next then ‘Wheels of Fire’.  Thanks to an older brother who had great taste in music, CB was exposed to this great music.  Needless to say it really shaped my musical tastes.

Every cut on this album is a good one, starting with one of the best riffs in rock, ‘Sunshine Of Your Love’.  A hard rock must.  Eric Clapton cutting loose,  Jack Bruce laying it down and Ginger Baker doing his thing under it all.  Great vocals from Jack and Eric.  At the time this was Cream’s signature tune for CB ( It still sounds great today).  It’s hard not to mention every song on this album.  ‘Badge’ is next and it is another all time fave tune.  Eric just rips another great solo.  Dug the lyrics in this one.  What a cool song.  ‘Crossroads’ again has Eric going to town with some great guitar.  But Jack is killing it on the bass and so is Ginger on the skins.  What a fantastic piece of playing by these three guys.  Unique sound.  I guess this is what you call musical chemistry.   Jack’s touch is all over  ‘White room’.  He is one of CB’s favorite vocalists.  The other two definitely add to it.  Does Eric play a bad solo?  Swalbr ends the fist side.  This music was unique to Cream.

download-1

‘Born Under a Bad Sign’ is Cream style blues.  ‘Spoonfull’ is a CB staple and another blues and the boys celebrate it their way.  Great tune!  Hard rock, hard blues just fantastic.  Man could these guys do it. ‘Ulysses’ is just a really cool song.  Jack and Eric set it up and Ginger kicks it into gear.  Lyrics conjure up some vivid images.  Eric rips some killer licks and Ginger pounds away adding some nice cymbals.  ‘Strange Brew’ finds a groove. ‘I Feel Free’ has a catchy hook at the start (try getting that out of your head),  Ginger comes in, Bruce breaks into vocals and Eric solos.  End of record.

If three guys ever came together with musical ideas to make great music it was Jack, Ginger and Eric.  All CB can say is Cream was one of his favorite bands.  So here it is, a pretty good taste of Cream.  These guys did some damage in the music world.  One of the best in Babyhead’s opinion.  CB wore all their records out.  He played the hell out of this one.  Still does.

( Music Enthusiast, Vinyl Connection, 1537, Forgotten Rock Classics, all do some good takes on the band, individual records, singles and history.  Worth checking out )

26 comments on “Album : Cream – Best Of Cream

  1. Jim S.
    May 21, 2017

    I read your piece and was just about to comment when I saw your mention of my blog at the end. Thanks for that CB knows without my even saying it how I feel about these guys. Where he had an older brother, I have an older sister. She brought home all the good stuff, from doo-wop to Beatles to Hendrix, (That said, she was never really much of a blues fan.) My first real taste of blues was ‘Born Under a Bad Sign.’To this day, I’ll happily pop a copy of ‘Wheels of Fire’ in the car CD player and go for a spin. I credit these guys as much as anybody for opening the door to get me to listen to jazz.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 21, 2017

      I went and looked at your Cream piece again. How the hell did I miss the ‘Sunshine’ clip? I never seen that before. As the song progresses the guys get more and more into it. No faking, the music had them in even in that sterile environment. Your take was really good. I can’t tell you how much I like these guys. Your last sentence of your comment is so true. The proof is in the listening. Thanks Doc.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. yeahanotherblogger
    May 21, 2017

    You’re right. These guys played incredibly well together, and they had great songs.
    Have you seen any of them in concert? I never did. A couple of years ago, Ginger Baker passed through the Philly area with his jazz group. Stupidly, I didn’t go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 21, 2017

      Listening to them today I’m still amazed how good they sound, the synergy of the music. As far as seeing them, just Eric early on. The ‘461 Blvd’ era. Too bad on the Baker thing. I seen him on a PBS program a few years ago maybe it was the same tour. He is a unique individual. The reunion concert they had was fantastic, again just caught that on the tube. I’m a big Jack fan. That Philly area gets some goods acts passing through. Take care Neil (I’m waiting for my mom to call Ginger)

      Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 21, 2017

      Just thought of this. My brother went to a Cream concert. You think he would have taken me. Not a chance, I think he took a girl.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Vinyl Connection
    May 21, 2017

    Nice one CB. This was my first Cream album too, though the front cover was different. And what did the vegetables mean anyway?!

    Thanks for the shoutout too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 21, 2017

      I never got the veggies. I thought you would know that. Different cover? Now I’m curious. Obviously you still have it. Yeah your ‘Disraeli’ piece was a good one.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hotfox63
    May 21, 2017

    The Cream were possibly better as a live act than on record, but their records (at least some of them) were nevertheless impressiveand this one captures the best of their recorded music. The group were generally more popular in America (where they spent a lot of time touring) than their British homeland.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 21, 2017

      I always find that strange about popularity. How different bands connect with different regions. All that touring in America would have an effect on those guys. Not all positive. My older brother caught them and then later on Blind Faith.

      Liked by 1 person

      • hotfox63
        May 22, 2017

        You’re right, it’s strange with popularity. The Cream US Tour 1968 (with Traffic as a support band) was very successful and lucrative. Many musicians were also on concert tour because there was no global music industry as today in the sixties.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        May 22, 2017

        Cream/Traffic what a combo.

        Liked by 1 person

      • hotfox63
        May 24, 2017

        Almost Blind Faith.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. greenpete58
    May 22, 2017

    The first “supergroup,” I think, and probably the best (even though most Americans didn’t know of these guys when they formed Cream). I have the Royal Albert Hall reunion gig on tape, and it gives a glimpse of how powerful this 3-piece was onstage. I didn’t know that they weren’t as popular in England. Yardbirds, Bluesbreakers, Graham Bond Organization were all well-known there, I believe, and only the Yardbirds had any chart success in America.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim S.
      May 22, 2017

      I have that Royal Albert Hall show on CD and it’s killer. It was great to hear them do “Stormy Monday.” If they ever did that back in the day I never heard it. The Allmans own this so much (at least in my head) that it’s nice to hear another version. Those other bands didn’t have as much commercial success in the US. They were well-known to the music critics here, such as they even existed in 1965-66. It was thanks to some of those guys that I even knew about bands like Bluesbreakers. Totally under the radar.

      Liked by 2 people

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        May 22, 2017

        I found my way to all that other stuff you and Pete are talking about after I heard Cream. What a wealth of great music. All the Mayall stuff and where that lead. I guess because Cream was one of the first bands i got into, I followed their individual careers also. The RAH concert I think shows how well these guys got along when they were playing. Time for CB to get the ‘Albert’ concert unless you want to make a record swap.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jim S.
        May 22, 2017

        Record swap? Where we’re going we don’t NEED records. :-O

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        May 22, 2017

        I just inherited boxes of LPs from my sis. Her and I have, lets say different ears. Knowing you and your open-mindedness (Which I admire) I was thinking a box of these “Soft Sounds From the 70’s” and similar type records for RHA. What do say Doc? You get 100 plus and I get one. 50/50 on the postage.

        Like

      • Jim S.
        May 22, 2017

        LOL. My open-mindedness only goes so far. If any of ’em are disco, use ’em for target practice.

        Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 22, 2017

      I don’t have the ‘Albert’ concert but I seen it. Sometimes reunion concerts can be a little dicey. Not in this case. These guys just made great music together (despite all the talk off infighting). I want to get it on disc for sure. I have the Winwood/Clapton at MSG and listen to it a lot. I love when you guys pop in with all that music history and personal experience etc…. Always better when you can share the experience. Bottom line is that these 3 guys made some really good music, I think we are in agreement.

      Like

  6. greenpete58
    May 22, 2017

    You’re right, CB, so many reunion concerts are a letdown. I think many of them are for financial reasons. But these three were still on top of their game at RAH, and the sparks were flying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 22, 2017

      I’m sure money came into play here also but with guys like this, I still think it’s about the music. The proof is in what you see and what you hear. They walk on stage and get to business. “Sparks were flying’ I like that!

      Like

  7. 1537
    May 22, 2017

    Great, I love the cover of this by the way – you can’t beat a good bit of produce. There’s not a duff second on this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 23, 2017

      Nothing like tying on a feed of eggplant. You’re right about the cuts on this record. By the way I missed the piece you did on ‘Disraeli Gears’ first time through. I seen it a couple days ago. It’s a good one. I like that you gave “Mom ‘ her due. Looking like Ginger Baker could be dangerous in certain neighbor hoods. And doesn’t everyone over there talk like him.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. dcw0731
    May 26, 2017

    CB thank for the shout out. Sorry to say but I don’t own this gem. But since I own all the others you should forgive me. Best thing about “Best of” is there isn’t a bad tune on the album.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 26, 2017

      No problem. You’re right. Not “a bad tune”. I went on to acquire the rest of their music and quite a bit of their solo stuff also. The songs never get old proven by the cut you featured.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

