Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : Sweetnighter – Weather Report

download-13

This was the second “Jazz” album my friend Georgie (Porgie) turned me onto.  He had the great Hi-Fi system so it did the music justice.  Infectious percussion and drums open up the first cut.  Bass , keyboards and sax all come in at the same time.  The rhythm section keep up a steady groove with some very cool electric piano and sax filling in.  The cut is ‘Boogie Woogie Waltz’ and it’s thirteen minutes of CB’s intro to Weather Report’s music.  CB couldn’t resist the groove.

CB was drawn to the music these guys were making.  Wayne Shorter’s Sax (soprano) sound was different from what CB was familiar with and opened up his ears to a different kind of playing.  The next two cuts don’t have that funk/groove feel but the music was still holding the ear.  Lots of new music to expand the tastes.

Side two opens up with ‘125TH Street Congress’ and gets a little more funky again. Love the rhythm section.  Two basses really lay it down. Shorter coming in with some sax when he feels like it.  Underneath it all Joe Zawinul is filling in with his keyboards. Plus he jumps in with a few licks.  CB was digging this big-time.  Another 10 minute plus groove.  They change the mood with ‘Will’,it takes it down a notch but it still keeps you engaged.  Really like this cut.  (This sound would color future directions for CB).  The bass riff did it.  The last cut is another cool groove.  The drums setting the tone, the bass jumping in with Zawinul and Shorter adding their thing.

download-14

Weather Report had a unique sound and their music appealed to an unsophisticated Babyhead.  He was coming from a basic rock n roll base to this.  He couldn’t explain it if he tried.  He liked the sound, that’s all he could say.  He was lucky to have friends who steered him in some very good musical directions.  Weather Report would take him to more of this kind of “Jazz” in the near future.

(CB was fortunate to see Weather Report at this time.  His second Jazz concert. He was taken in by the whole event)

7 comments on “Album : Sweetnighter – Weather Report

  1. Jim S.
    March 12, 2017

    CB, you and I talked about this on my post and you know I’m a Weather Report guy. I had completely forgotten about this album (fixated on ‘Heavy Weather’) until I did my series. Saw them a couple times back in the day. To you and your readers, I can unreservedly recommend the 2015 live compilation, “The Legendary Live Tapes, 1978-1981.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 12, 2017

      Oh yeah, bring up that album. I was in a record shop back when and had it in my hot little hand , put it down and couldn’t find it again. No excuse should have picked it up at some time. Now I’m going to be thinking about that all day. WR made great music. ‘Sweetnighter’ was my start.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. yeahanotherblogger
    March 12, 2017

    Not sure if I heard this album. I have an earlier one called I Sing The Body Electric, which I liked a lot. Weather Report deservedly was big for a long time. Those guys could play!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 12, 2017

      I think if you hear the first cut you would remember. I’m going to have to give ‘Body Electric’ a spin. I think it was before this one. A little movie tie in. When I seen ‘Play Misty For Me’ they have a shot of an outdoor concert and Joe Zawinul is in the band. (Did you lose your mild weather back there?)

      Like

  3. greenpete58
    March 13, 2017

    Nice review, CB. I’ll have to look for Zawinul next time I see that movie. I’m not a huge fusion fan, but this band was one of the very best in that genre. All the musicians are virtuosos, and the band may have gotten even better when the great Jaco Pastorius joined.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      March 13, 2017

      Thanks Pete. This album and a few others at the time led me to the older jazz vaults. Mahavishnu Orchestra was another one that i really dug. You probably know that Eastwood is a big jazz fan so he filmed shots at the Monterey Jazz Fest. (Movie is a little dated but Jessica Walters steals the show). Good to hear from you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

