Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Single : My Generation – The Who

download-1

OK.  Who could resit the opening of this song?  CB couldn’t.  Biting his lower lip, giving himself whiplash and jumping around like a nut-bar is what ‘My Generation’ did to him.

One of the best rock songs ever for CB.   The Who blast it out of the park.  Hit by rock n roll lightning.  3:15 of the best.  Can’t add a lot more.  Bass, drums, vocals and guitar,  Who style.  Energy and more energy.  Entwistle’s bass gets me every-time.

No wonder CB became a Who fan.  Break out the neck brace and crank it up!!!

18 comments on “Single : My Generation – The Who

  1. Jim S.
    February 5, 2017

    I love the Who now as much as I ever did. Entwistle may have been the best rock bassist ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      February 5, 2017

      No flash and dash from John just rock solid sound. The Who are at the top of CB’s pile for sure. (On your Gvt Mule piece, I think they cut an album where they brought in all these cool bass players like Entwistle, Squire etc)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1537
    February 6, 2017

    It’s like plugging yourself directly into the mains.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      February 6, 2017

      That sounds cool and I think I get the idea but what exactly is the “mains”? Educate CB.

      Liked by 1 person

      • 1537
        February 7, 2017

        I think you crazy Americans would call it ‘the grid’.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        February 7, 2017

        I figured that. I’m going to start using it. The Who was definitely plugged into it. CB is a little crazy but he’s a Canuck. I’ll be paying a visit to 1537 land.(I forgot where I left off)

        Liked by 1 person

      • 1537
        February 7, 2017

        Sorry, I apologise I assumed you were Cincinnati based …

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        February 7, 2017

        My secret agent name. Like 1537.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. dcw0731
    February 12, 2017

    People try to put us d-down (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)
    Just because we get around (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)
    Things they do look awful c-c-cold (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)
    I hope I die before I get old (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)
    CB at this point in our lives maybe we can change the last line to “I hope I die before I get TOO old?”
    Great tune choice CB.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      February 12, 2017

      Yup. I busted out ‘Best of Cream’ after your ‘Ulysses’ post. I’ve given it a couple spins.

      Liked by 1 person

      • dcw0731
        February 12, 2017

        About a month or two ago I got into a “Who” music mood. Now I’ll have to just do it again and again. Thanks CB

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        February 12, 2017

        Just watched a documentary on ‘Quadrophenia’. I recommend it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. dcw0731
    February 12, 2017

    CB sorry you Canuck but Go Sharks

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      February 12, 2017

      I just picked the ‘Sharks’ to win the cup today. Hey , Neil Young is a Sharks fan.. maybe a who fan also.

      Liked by 1 person

      • dcw0731
        February 12, 2017

        I try to watch every Sharks game and when every Neil shows up they always put the camera on him. Most of the time he has his son with him which makes it more special. We just got our yearly game tickets today to go and see them play “The Capitols” in March.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        February 12, 2017

        Could be a preview for the Final. Did you see when the Sharks had the special night for Sam? CB teared up big time. Good guys. Go Sharks. Go Who.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. dcw0731
    February 12, 2017

    CB It was side 4 of “Quadrophenia” that started my whole Who fix. I’ve seen that documentary I think. At some point does it show interviewing some ladies that where in part of the movie or lived on the street where the kid lived?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2017 by in 1965 Single, Rock and Roll, The Who, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Categories

