Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album : Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid Soundtrack – Bob Dylan

download

Just the opening cut takes CB back into the film.  The first soundtrack album and first Bob Dylan album for CB at the same time.  Could listen to the ‘Main Title Theme (Billy)’ for as long as they wanted to play it.  Beautiful.  The second cut just continues in the same vein.  A little more sparse but the same feel.  ‘Billy 1’ has the more familiar Dylan sound with the harmonica but it stays with vibe of the film.  Dylan adds his voice which is perfect and tells a tale.  Great lyrics, great tune.   Every time he hears this song he wants to watch the film again.

Nothing over- powering here just subtle good music that is easy to listen to.  ‘Turkey Chase’ opens side two with Byron Berlin taking the lead on the fiddle with solid support from the other players.  Old timey, country , bluegrass feel.  ‘Knockin’ On Heavens Door’ is next and what a next it is.  A CB fave.  It’s  beautiful.  (Enhances one of CB’s favorite scenes. Tear up just thinking about Katy Jurado and Slim Pickens)  Dylan’s lyrics make it even better.  Goose bumps.  Maybe the reason CB wanted to hear more of Bob.  Flute and recorder take the lead on the next tune and it works nicely.  This is just real good music on it’s own.  No flash and dash , stripped down and played with lots of soul.  Another version of ‘Billy’ and it is real good.  It’s followed by the last cut on the album, another version of ‘Billy’.  I guess Bob was trying to get it right.  Hey, all versions work.

images-15

CB heard good soundtrack music before and good Dylan music too.  This album for what- ever reason grabbed him and moved him.  Sam Peckinpah knew what he was doing when he got Bob to supply the music for his film.  Bob even had a role.  The Billy song could be Sam’s song.  Probably was.

This album and film were a coming together of two of CB’s favorite things.  Music and movies.  This soundtrack  got it right.   He still pulls this one out and listens to it on a regular basis.  It’s good.  Real good.

This was the lead into more Dylan and more soundtracks ( Lots of both).  Great start on both counts.  This album will always have a special place.   I think I’ll close my eyes slap on the record, listen and watch the movie in my mind.  Can’t separate the two.

(Oh yeah, the back cover on the album has a fantastic still from the movie)

 

8 comments on “Album : Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid Soundtrack – Bob Dylan

  1. Jim S.
    November 6, 2016

    Huh! I’m a pretty big Zimmy fan but have never heard this soundtrack.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      November 6, 2016

      Funny how people come at things from different paths. It’s more instrumental which as I got to know Bob’s music was opposite of his lyric driven reputation. I’d just be repeating myself on how much I like this record. If you can get the clip of ‘Heavens Door’ from the film, have a look, it’s great stuff. You’d have to watch the movie to get the context but it stands on it’s own. Thanks Jim.

      Like

  2. John W. Leys
    November 6, 2016

    This is a highly underappreciated album, in my opinion. Everyone knows Knocking on Heaven’s Door, but not many are familiar with the whole album. By it’s a good album, but coupled with the movie it is genius.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      November 6, 2016

      Hey John, I guess all that really matters is that we both appreciate it. Well said on the “coupled ” together. A case where the music enhances the visual. Being a wordsmith that is really cool that you would dig this Dylan album. Thanks for dropping by.

      Liked by 1 person

      • John W. Leys
        November 6, 2016

        I definitely was first attracted to Dylan’s lyrics, and that’s what I appreciate the most, but I think many overlook his musicianship because his words are so powerful. I’m a huge movie buff and a lover of soundtrack albums. I often play instrumental music (often soundtracks to my favorite movies or TV shows, or classical music) when I’m writing. It gives me something to listen to, but doesn’t have lyrics to distract me from what I’m trying to write.

        There are several movie soundtracks where listening to the album, I can see the movie in my mind, the two are so intertwined to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        November 6, 2016

        I get the inspiration thing on your writing. Like I said about the first cut on the album, the music just does it for me. Bob was getting the feel across without words. That really is kinda cool and talented. He was hooked into Sam’s vision for the film. Good input John. ‘Vinyl Connection (Bruce)’ is doing a soundtrack thing. Check it out.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony
    May 11, 2017

    I really like this album. I think it’s often overlooked in the Dylan canon for obvious reasons (primarily instrumental etc) but I remember getting this and really digging the overall vibe. Plus it had Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door… I really should get round to watching this film

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      May 11, 2017

      You’re back in the vaults for this one. My ear and my gut could not deny this music. It moves CB. Funny you should mention the film, it’s up on the box for this weekend. Very cool that you dig this album.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2016 by in 1973 Albums, Bob Dylan, Soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Categories

