Cincinnati Babyhead

Speaks his mind on music & movies!

Album: Live at Leeds – the Who

download

“When a young man ain’t got nothin in the world these days…..”

The first cut just explodes. Hard loud music. A new kind of sound for Babyhead. It didn’t take long for him to like it. Like right away. He was hooked.

“Substitute you for my mom at least I’ll get my washing done..”

This music was rough, hard, loud and good. Nothing slick or polished. Just hard rockn’ roll. CB didn’t know that term at the time but he did know that he liked this style.

Shaking All Over just kept sinking this music’s teeth into Babyhead. He loved that cut. There was just more of that sound coming at him. ‘My Generation’ continued the onslaught. It wouldn’t stop.

“Don’t try to dig what we all say..”

Who were these guys? The Who. The cover was plain white with “The Who Live At Leeds” stamped on the front. Inside the jacket were some papers pertaining to the band’s activities. CB didn’t really give a shit.. There were also a couple photos of what must have been the band. One of the pics was of a guy in a pair of coveralls jumping with his guitar held over his head. He’s in front of a huge outside audience. ‘Who Live At Leeds’ CB clued in.

images (4)images (5)

‘Magic Bus’ opens with a guy playing the claves or what sounded like claves. ( The only instrument CB played in school band ) This guy could actually play them. A great guitar riff comes in, voice, bass.

“Everyday I get in the queue to get on the bus that takes me to you..” Babyhead didn’t know what a queue was but he was going to get in one. ” Too much Magic Bus..”  “I want it I want it I want it…” The beat catches you and you stay on it. Two guys are making a deal on a bus. Then Boom!!! Explosion city. Back to that sound that these guys make.

Yeah one of CBs fave albums. It just grabbed him and wouldn’t let go.

Another record off his brothers pile. What was he going to listen to after this album? More of these guys and more music like it. Great live rockn’ roll album by a great band . The Who. Live At Leeds. Crank it up!!

BH is going to do a little clave practicing.

4 comments on “Album: Live at Leeds – the Who

  1. Heavy Metal Overload
    August 3, 2017

    Classic Who… don’t think there was ever a more powerful band than this lineup in its prime. Total force and dynamics. Always loved Townshend’s playing and improv. I think his ability in that regard is overlooked. Great, exciting player and one if my favourites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cincinnatibabyhead
      August 3, 2017

      Totally agree on your points.. Special album for me. No secret why I featured it. i still listen to this one regular. Why i became a Who fan and why I fell for that hard, loud, powerful sound that they called rock n roll. Now I have to go listen to it AGAIN.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heavy Metal Overload
        August 4, 2017

        Actually I only heard the original version a few years ago. I discovered it in the age of the many expanded versions. Which are all great! But the original tracklisting is just perfect.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cincinnatibabyhead
        August 4, 2017

        I picked up the “expanded version” also. Some gems on it. I have a few album versions including the original that I stole from my brother. Is there a better song than ‘Young Man Blues’? Maybe but man do I like their version. You hear that when you’re a kid and it does something to you. Thanks for the convo. I’ll check in on your stuff next week.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2015 by in 1970 Live albums, albums, music and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

